Surfing with the Alien, the 1987 Breakthrough Album by Guitar Virtuoso Joe Satriani, will be Reissued August 7, 2007 in a New 20th Anniversary Edition From Epic/Legacy Recordings

Expanded Two-CD Set Includes the Newly Remastered Album Plus a Bonus DVD Capturing Satriani's Performance at the 1988 Montreux Jazz Festival

'We really thought it would be the last album that anyone would let us make. We were doing something that was just so unpopular. A blend of rock and blues and jazz and techno and film music, played as guitar instrumentals? No one really understood it,' --


Surfing with the Alien was the album that ignited Joe Satriani's career as a solo performer. The acclaimed guitarist's second full-length release, Surfing with the Alien was originally issued in October 1987 on Relativity Records. It became a left-field bestseller that reached No. 29 on the Billboard Top 200 and was certified Platinum for US sales of over one million copies. It was the first rock guitar instrumental album to reach Billboard's Top 200 Album Chart. It includes the charting hits "Satch Boogie" and "Surfing With The Alien", plus the Grammy-nominated "Always With Me, Always With You".

(Logo: )

Surfing ... launched Satriani on an ever-evolving creative path: eighteen further audio and video releases (nine of them certified gold and/or platinum) totaling over 10 million albums sold worldwide, fourteen Grammy Award nominations, and multiple world tours both as a headliner and as founder of the all-star "G3" guitar extravaganza.

On August 7, 2007, Epic/Legacy Recordings will celebrate the 20th anniversary of this groundbreaking album with the release of a new expanded edition of Surfing with the Alien. This meticulously restored two-disc set includes the newly remastered album and a previously never-before-seen live show filmed at the Montreux Jazz Festival in 1988. It will also feature new liner notes written by Joe and special deluxe packaging featuring photos, notes and other memorabilia from Joe's personal archive.

Disc One: The Album

This portion of the 20th Anniversary edition of Surfing with the Alien contains the original ten-track album, newly remastered by Joe Satriani and original album co-producer John Cuniberti, at The Plant Studios in Sausalito, California. The ten songs were written and arranged by Joe Satriani, who played guitar, bass, keyboards, percussion, and drum programming on the original sessions.

"From 1979 through 1984," Satriani recounts, "I was in a band called The Squares with John Cuniberti, who was our live engineer and also did our demos, and Jeff Campitelli on drums. I self-released my first EP (Joe Satriani) and then worked with John and Jeff on my first full-length album, Not of This Earth. Relativity released that recording in December 1986 and after I played some new songs at a New York showcase in January '87, the label gave me the go-ahead to make Surfing with the Alien.

"Through 1987, I was dividing my time between teaching guitar, playing sessions, and working on my own tracks. We were so broke when we recorded Surfing ... that there are no photos from the sessions-we wouldn't spend money on pictures if we could rent a cool piece of gear instead! We really thought it would be the last album that anyone would let us make."

Following the release of Surfing with the Alien in October 1987, Relativity execs urged Satriani to mount a tour as the leader of his own band. Despite his misgivings ("I'd never done that-I'd always been in rock bands with singers"), Joe assembled a trio and did two weeks of dates on the East Coast and around Southern California in January 1988.

Before his own shows had concluded, Joe was recruited for a Mick Jagger solo tour in support of the lone Stone's Primitive Cool album. For the guitarist, it proved a valuable learning experience: "That tour kind of rescued me. I learned how to perform from Mick, when and when not to go over the top." In the summer of 1988, a newly confident Satriani joined forces with bassist Stu Hamm and drummer Jonathan Mover for his maiden voyage to the UK and Europe.

Disc 2: The Live DVD

The second disc of the 20th Anniversary edition of Surfing with the Alien features a never-before-seen live show that captures Joe Satriani performing at the Montreux Jazz Festival on July 14, 1988 during the bombastic Surfing with the Alien tour. Expertly backed by Hamm and Mover, Joe tears through "Ice 9," "Satch Boogie," and "Circles" (among other favorites from Surfing ... ) along with tunes like "Hordes of Locusts" and "Rubina" from Not of This Earth.

"It was my first trip to Europe and the first of our four shows overseas," Satriani recalls. "I was supposed to arrive at Montreux in time for sound check and play at midnight on July 14. We had a direct flight from London to Switzerland.

"Because of something to do with Bastille Day, our flight was grounded in Lyon, France-so my manager and I got off the plane, rented a car, and drove six or seven hours to Montreux. We missed the soundcheck. Fortunately, Carlos Santana and Milton Nascimento preceded our set and they would not get off the stage.

"It was 4:15 a.m. when we finally hit. We led off with 'Ice 9' and after the first eight bars, most people got up and left! I think it was just a little too over the top for that time of the morning, and they made us play a shortened set. When it was over, we went across the street to the hotel, took a shower, and got into the car for an 8:00 a.m. flight back to London to play two gigs.

"This show isn't anything like what you'd see me play today. But it's a personal historical document and I've learned to appreciate the raw energy of it. The set was mixed live-now we've expanded the sonic quality and tried to make the performance come off as powerfully on DVD as it did for us on stage that night."

  Surfing With the Alien (20th Anniversary Epic/Legacy Edition)
  Originally released October 1987

  CD -- Disc 1 (remastered)

  01. Surfing with the Alien
  02. Ice 9
  03. Crushing Day
  04. Always With Me, Always With You
  05. Satch Boogie
  06. Hill of the Skull
  07. Circles
  08. Lords of Karma
  09. Midnight
  10. Echo

  Original album credits:

  Joe Satriani -- guitar, bass, keyboards, percussion, drum programming
  Bongo Bob Smith -- drum programming, sound design, percussion
  Jeff Campitelli -- drums, percussion
  John Cuniberti -- percussion
  Jeff Kreeger -- pre-production programming and sound design
  All songs written and arranged by Joe Satriani
  All songs published by Strange Beautiful Music/ASCAP

  DVD -- Disc 2 -- Live at Montreux (previously unreleased)

  01. Ice 9
  02. Memories
  03. Midnight
  04. Rubina
  05. Circles
  06. Lords of Karma
  07. S.T.U.
  08. Echo
  09. Hordes of Locusts
  10. Always With Me, Always With You
  11. Satch Boogie

  Joe Satriani -- guitar
  Stu Hamm -- bass
  Jonathan Mover -- drums

  Recorded July 14, 1988 at the Montreux Jazz Festival.
  All songs are previously unreleased.
  All songs written and arranged by Joe Satriani except for S.T.U.
Photo: NewsCom:
PRN Photo Desk,


CONTACT: Tom Cording, for Legacy Recordings, +1-212-833-4448, or, or Melissa Dragich-Cordero of Mad Ink PR for Joe
Satriani,+1-310-547-1212, or

Web site: