Columbia/Sony Music Soundtrax Set to Release 'Surf's Up' (Music From The Ocean Picture) on Tuesday, June 5

Soundtrack Album Features 'Lose Myself,' The New Song By Lauryn Hill & New Tracks From 311, Sugar Ray, Ken Andrews, Nine Black Alps & Big Nose

'Surf's Up,' The Groundbreaking Sony Pictures Animation & Columbia Pictures Film, Opens Nationwide On Friday, June 8


Columbia/Sony Music Soundtrax will release Surf's Up (Music From The Ocean Picture), the soundtrack album from the animated family film, "Surf's Up," on Tuesday, June 5.

"Surf's Up," the widely-anticipated stylistically innovative CGI-animated comedy from Columbia Pictures & Sony Pictures Animation, opens nationwide on Friday, June 8.

Surf's Up (Music From The Ocean Picture) premieres several brand-new songs including "Lose Myself," from the multi-platinum Grammy-winning recording artist Lauryn Hill as well as new tracks from 311, Sugar Ray, Ken Andrews, Nine Black Alps and Big Nose (featuring Jonny Polonsky and members of Rage Against The Machine).

"We are thrilled to be a part of the return of Ms. Lauryn Hill!," exclaimed Liza Richardson, an avid surfer, DJ and music supervisor for "Surf's Up." "Apparently, she related to Big Z's story -- reaching the top, checking out for a while, doing some soul searching and re-emerging with joy -- and wrote and recorded a real celebratory summer jam session for 'Surf's Up.' We're glad to have Lauryn back where she belongs!"

Directed animation virtuosos Ash Brannon ("Toy Story 2") and Chris Buck ("Tarzan," "Pocahontas"), "Surf's Up" is predicated on the comedic premise that surfing was invented by penguins. A cartoon "documentary" taking place behind the scenes in the high-octane world of competitive penguin surfing, the film profiles teenage Rockhopper penguin Cody Maverick (voiced by Shia LaBeouf), an up-and-coming surfer, as he enters his first professional competition. Followed by a camera crew to document his experiences, Cody leaves his family and home in Shiverpool, Antarctica to travel to Pen Gu Island for the Big Z Memorial Surf Off. Along the way, Cody meets surf nut Chicken Joe (Jon Heder), famous surf promoter Reggie Belafonte (James Woods), surf talent scout Mikey Abromowitz (Mario Cantone), and spirited lifeguard Lani Aliikai (Zooey Deschanel), all of whom recognize Cody's passion for surfing, even if it sometimes goes too far. Cody believes that winning will bring him the admiration and respect he desires, but when he unexpectedly comes face-to-face with a washed-up old surfer named Zeke (Jeff Bridges), Cody begins to find his own way, and discovers that a true winner isn't always the one who comes in first.

  Surf's Up (Music From The Ocean Picture)
  track listing

  1.)  INCUBUS, Drive
  2.)  DIRTY HEADS, Stand Tall
  3.)  LAURYN HILL, Lose Myself
  4.)  311, Reggae Got Soul
  5.)  FORRO IN THE DARK, Forrowest
  6.)  NINE BLACK ALPS, Pocket Full Of Stars
  7.)  KEN ANDREWS, Just Say Yes
  8.)  SUGAR RAY, Into Yesterday
  9.)  PEARL JAM, Big Wave
  10.) PRIESTESS, Run Home (Instrumental)
  11.) BIG NOSE, Wipe Out
  12.) THE ROMANTICS, What I Like About You
  13.) NEW RADICALS, You Get What You Give
       Hawaiian War Chant (Ta-Hu-Wa-Hu-Wai)

SOURCE: Columbia/Sony Music Soundtrax

CONTACT: Edwin Banacia of Columbia Records, +1-212-833-5072,

Web site: