Uncle Tupelo Gets Its Due with 'Anthology' on Columbia/Legacy


More than a decade before the O Brother Where Art Thou? soundtrack, Jay Farrar, Jeff Tweedy and Mike Heidorn were combing their local library in Belleville, IL, for Folkways recordings by artists like Leadbelly and The Carter Family. The trio went on to form the highly influential Uncle Tupelo, a band that blended the energy of punk rock with the traditional songs and sounds of American roots music. After releasing four albums between 1989 and 1993, the band splintered, with Jay Farrar and Mike Heidorn heading off to form Son Volt, while Jeff Tweedy soon resurfaced as the leader of Wilco.

The majority of Uncle Tupelo's recordings -- now highly-regarded and considered the starting ground for today's alt-country music movement -- have been unavailable for the past several years. That will change on March 19th as Columbia/Legacy releases the career retrospective Uncle Tupelo 89/93: An Anthology. The disc includes 21 digitally-remastered tracks, including songs from all four of the group's albums, as well as rare singles, b-sides, and one previously unreleased track.

Later this year, Columbia/Legacy will release expanded editions of Uncle Tupelo's first three albums -- No Depression, Still Feel Gone, and March 16- 20, 1992 -- all of which have been out-of-print for several years. The band's fourth and final album, Anodyne, remains available on Sire/Warner Records.

For more information on Uncle Tupelo 89/93: An Anthology visit http://www.legacyrecordings.com/


SOURCE: Columbia/Legacy

Contact: Tom Cording of Columbia-Legacy, +1-212-833-4448

Website: http://www.legacyrecordings.com/