Matt Johnson of The The Resurfaces with Epic/Legacy Restoration


Although he never scored a Top 40 hit in America, Matt Johnson of the ambiguously named The The wrote and performed numerous chart singles in his native England since his debut in 1979. All of those hits, plus a wealth of other fan favorites, are collected on the limited edition double-CD set "45 RPM: The Singles Of The The," released in the U.S. by Epic/Legacy on May 21.

The package will also include three brand-new tracks which have never appeared anywhere before. All three songs will be released in England as singles in the coming months: "Pillar Box Red," "Deep Down Truth," and "December Sunlight (Cried Out)." While the latter song did previously appear on The The's last studio album, 2000's "Naked Self," the version on "45 RPM" has been completely revamped.

"45 RPM" is the first-ever compilation of the recordings of The The. It also marks the first release on CD of many early recordings and rare 12" vinyl single mixes. The entire package has been digitally remastered for optimum sound quality.

On July 2nd, Epic/Legacy will follow the release of "45 RPM" with deluxe editions of the first four The The albums: "Soul Mining" (1983), "Infected" (1986), "Mind Bomb" (1989), and "Dusk" (1993). These titles will feature greatly enhanced packaging with slipcase covers, new and old cover artwork, full lyrics, and rare archival photography.

Matt Johnson currently resides in Sweden and is writing and recording songs for a new album.


SOURCE: Legacy/Epic

Contact: Randy Haecker of Epic-Legacy, +1-212-833-4448