Columbia Records Set to Release the Eagerly-Awaited Brand New Barbra Streisand Studio Record, The Movie Album

Legendary Artist's 60th Album Showcases Best-Loved Songs From Films

The Movie Album in Stores Tuesday, October 14


Columbia Records will release the new Barbra Streisand record, The Movie Album, a personal selection of some of the artist's favorite songs from films spanning the years 1935-1988 (see track listing following). The Movie Album will be in stores Tuesday, October 14.

The new CD, Ms. Streisand's 60th album, features 12 brand-new recordings produced by Barbra Streisand. Ms. Streisand co-produced three tracks -- "Moon River," "How Do You Keep the Music Playing?," "Calling You" -- with Robbie Buchanan and one track -- "Emily" with the legendary composer/arranger Johnny Mandel. All the songs on The Movie Album were recorded with full-band accompanied by 75-piece orchestra(s). Arrangers on the album include Johnny Mandel, Jeremy Lubbock, Jorge Calandrelli, and Robbie Buchanan. The Movie Album is executive produced by Barbra Streisand and Jay Landers. The Movie Album includes revealing song-by-song annotations by Ms. Streisand, who dedicates the album " my friend, Gregory Peck, a screen legend who in real life possessed all the humanity and dignity he brought to his career- defining roles."

A special collector's edition of The Movie Album will also be made available for a limited time. The special package will include The Movie Album in its entirety as well as a bonus DVD featuring videos of Ms. Streisand performing "I'm In The Mood For Love" and "Wild Is The Wind" as well as an in- depth exclusive audio commentary with the artist.

                             Barbra Streisand
                             The Movie Album

   1. Smile (from Modern Times - 1936)
   2. Moon River (from Breakfast At Tiffany's - 1961)
   3. I'm In The Mood For Love (from Every Night At Eight - 1935)
   4. Wild Is The Wind (from Wild Is The Wind - 1957)
   5. Emily (from The Americanization Of Emily - 1964)
   6. More In Love With You  (from The 4 Horsemen Of The Apocalypse - 1962)
   7. How Do You Keep The Music Playing? (from Best Friends - 1982)
   8. But Beautiful (from Road To Rio - 1947)
   9. Calling You (from Bagdad Cafe - 1988)
   10. The Second Time Around (from High Time - 1960)
   11. Goodbye For Now (from Reds - 1981)
   12. You're Gonna Hear From Me (from Inside Daisy Clover - 1965)

Having received Oscar, Tony, Emmy, Grammy, Golden Globe, Cable Ace and Peabody Awards (among numerous others), Barbra Streisand is truly a Renaissance woman with her extraordinary popularity now in its fifth decade. She is the highest-selling female recording artist ever, the only artist to have had a #1 album in each of the past four decades. Consistently releasing #1 albums over a period of nearly 40 years, she has achieved the greatest longevity of success of any recording artist or group. Barbra Streisand has set a series of unprecedented sales records with her recordings: to date, 48 of her albums and 8 of her singles have earned RIAA gold certifications; 28 of her albums and 5 of her singles have earned platinum certifications; 13 of her albums have broken into multi-platinum territory. In addition, she has earned 5 gold, 1 platinum, and 2 multi-platinum certifications for her video releases. Her unbroken string of successes began when her debut album, The Barbra Streisand Album, became the nation's top-selling record by a female vocalist in 1963 and has continued unabated through the release of Duets, which was certified gold by the RIAA shortly after its release in November 2002.

A national poll by the Reuters News Agency named Barbra Streisand and Frank Sinatra as the favorite female and male singers of the last century while the RIAA confirmed her status as the leading female recording artist of the 20th century.

SOURCE: Columbia Records

CONTACT: Claire Mercuri, Columbia Records, Media, New York,
+1-212-833-5121,; or Online press, Lisa Linder,
Sony Music Online Services, New York, +1-212-833-6666,, or For press materials online, please visit:

Web site: