29th Annual Dinner of Champions Raises $3,000,000 for MS Research

Miramax Films' Bob and Harvey Weinstein and Composer Michael Kamen Honored


Bob and Harvey Weinstein, co-chairmen of Miramax Films, were honored at the 29th annual "Dinner of Champions," sponsored by and benefiting the Southern California Chapter of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. The gala banquet took place on Thursday, September 25, 2003 at the Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles and raised $3,000,000 that will aid in the research, programs and services that the National MS Society supports throughout the year. Additionally, Grammy- winning and Academy Award nominated composer Michael Kamen was presented with the Dorothy Corwin Spirit of Life Award by his friend and colleague producer/director Richard Donner. Kamen, whose memorable film scores include Lethal Weapon, Die Hard, Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, Mr. Holland's Opus and X-Men, recently announced that he has been living with MS since 1996.

Quentin Tarantino presented to Bob and Harvey Weinstein and Richard Donner presented to Michael Kamen. Performing at the dinner was Grammy-winning R&B sensation Mya, and Byron Allen served as master of ceremonies for the eleventh year. Special guests attending included Annette Bening, Warren Beatty, Cuba Gooding Jr., Sylvester Stallone, Shaquille O'Neal, Tim Allen, Penny Marshall, Cindy Williams, David Lander, Michael McKean, Annette O'Toole, Henry Winkler, Bill Pullman, D.B. Sweeney, Daryl Hannah, David Carradine, Don Diamont, Kevin Smith, Lawrence Bender, Sydney Pollack, Peter and Bobby Farrelly, Joe Roth, Todd Garner, Rob Moore, Elaine Goldsmith-Thomas, Terry Curtin, Amy Pascal, Jeff Blake, Geoff Ammer, Jim Gianopulos, Bill Mechanic, Laura Ziskin, Sandy Grushow, Jim Wiatt and Bryan Lourd.

Chairing the Dinner for the eleventh consecutive year was Tom Sherak, partner in Revolution Studios and trustee of the Southern California Chapter of the National MS Society. Rick Sands, COO of Miramax, served as co-chair of the event, along with chapter trustees Doug Bergeron, Bob Harper, Sim Leonard, Arthur and Britta Schramm, Lester Trachman and Leon LeBuffe. Previous honorees for their generous support of the National MS Society have included such distinguished individuals as Steven Hilton, Peter Chernin, Joe Roth, Bill Mechanic, Amy Pascal, Jim Gianopulos, and last year's honoree Sir Howard Stringer. Previous recipients of the Corwin Award include Annette Funicello, Richard Pryor, Alan Osmond and David Lander.

The Dinner of Champions is one of the most highly visible fund raising events in Los Angeles, one that has been overwhelmingly embraced by the entertainment industry. Each year, the dinner honors a philanthropist who has made a significant contribution to the fight against multiple sclerosis. Because of fund raising events such as the Dinner of Champions, the National MS Society is able to spend more money on MS research than any other voluntary health organization in the world. This year the Society will invest over $30 million to support MS research, and more than $5 million is currently in place locally at UCLA, USC and the VA Medical Center. Proceeds from the Dinner also support vital programs for people who have MS and their families.

For additional information about the "Dinner of Champions," please call Pamela Thompson, The National MS Society, Southern California Chapter, at 310-479-4456. For press inquiries call Michelle Rasic, Columbia Pictures, at 310-244-8308 or Marni Deckter, The National MS Society, Southern California Chapter, at 310-479-4456. Donations can be made to the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, Southern California Chapter, 2440 S. Sepulveda Blvd., Suite 115, Los Angeles, CA 90064.

SOURCE: The National MS Society

CONTACT: Michelle Rasic of Columbia Pictures, +1-310-244-8308; or Marni
Deckter of The National MS Society, Southern California Chapter,