The Offspring's Avidly-Awaited New Album, Splinter, to Be Released On Tuesday, December 9

First Single, 'Hit That' is #1 Most Added


Splinter, the eagerly-awaited new album from The Offspring, will be released by Columbia Records on Tuesday, December 9. The first single from Splinter, "Hit That," is the #1 most added track at modern rock and rock formats this week.

Splinter is The Offspring's 7th album and is produced by Brendan O'Brien -- who worked with The Offspring on Conspiracy Of One and has helmed projects by Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Rage Against The Machine, Korn, and many others -- and features legendary drummer Josh Freese (the Vandals, A Perfect Circle) on each of the album's 12 tracks.

"After seven albums, it takes some effort not to just rest on your laurels," says singer Dexter Holland about making the new record, whose genesis can be traced back to demos recorded in the band's D-13 studios in his hometown of Huntington Beach, CA. "I listened to some of our older stuff, and tried to pick out what the charm of it was, without repeating myself. I feel good about this record. We mixed things up a bit."

The band's patented blend of rapid-fire musicianship, pulsing chords, unforgettable hooks, youth culture angst, and droll penetrating wit can be heard in songs like "Worst Hangover Ever," "Spare Me The Details," "When You're In Prison," "Da Hui," and the album's first single, "Hit That."

The Offspring lensed a groundbreaking video for "Da Hui," which the band serviced on its own to various surf, skateboard, and lifestyle outlets, generating an instantaneous buzz for Splinter. The song pays tribute to "Da Hui," a gang of Hawaiian hardcore surfers who've taken it upon themselves to enforce the unwritten code of ethics on the North Shore of Oahu. The video features bona fide members of "Da Hui" as well as The Offspring.

Following the release of Splinter, The Offspring will perform at a series of radio festivals in November/December 2003 before embarking on a European tour in January 2004 with Atom Willard (Rocket From The Crypt, Moth, the Alkaline Trio, Melissa Auf Der Maur) on drums.

One of the few rock bands in the world to achieve ongoing international platinum status while maintaining credibility, viability and enormous popularity with the oft-times fickle alt-rock audience, The Offspring began the group's string of platinum album hits with 1994's Smash (Epitaph), which has sold more than 11 million copies across the globe. The band released Inxay On The Hombre, its first multi-platinum platter for Columbia Records, in February 1997, following it up with the global sensation Americana, which has also sold more than 11 million copies worldwide since its release in November 1998.

The band's singles -- including "Pretty Fly (For A White Guy)," "Self Esteem," "Original Prankster" and many others -- have dominated Alternative, Rock and Pop radio formats, helping to restore Rock to the nation's radio airwaves and video playlists. The Offspring have achieved Top 5 or better with many of the groups' singles including:

   "Come Out And Play"
   "Self Esteem"
   "Gone Away"
   "I Choose"
   "Pretty Fly (For A White Guy)"
   "Why Don't You Get A Job?"
   "Original Prankster"

From 1994's Smash through 2000's Conspiracy Of One, the Offspring have sold 32 million albums worldwide.

                              The Offspring

   1. Neocon
   2. The Noose
   3. Long Way Home
   4. Hit That
   5. Race Against Myself
   6. (Can't Get My) Head Around You
   7. The Worst Hangover Ever
   8. Never Gonna Find Me
   9. Lightning Rod
   10. Spare Me The Details
   11. Da Hui
   12. When You're In Prison

  The Offspring Are:
  Dexter Holland - Vocals, Guitar
  Greg K - Bass, Vocals
  Noodles - Guitar, Vocals
  Atom Willard - Drums

SOURCE: Columbia Records

CONTACT: For more information on The Offspring and Splinter, Angelica
Cob-Baehler of Columbia Records, +1-310-449-2508,;
or Online press - Lisa Yvette Linder of Sony Music Online Services,

Web site: