Columbia Records Pushes Release Date of Dixie Chicks' Eagerly-Awaited Top Of The World Tour Live 2 CD Set & DVD Up to Friday, November 21

Overwhelming Demand For New Dixie Chicks Concert Material Sparks Rush Release Of Album & DVD


In response to overwhelming popular demand and in a move to thwart internet piracy, Columbia Records is pushing the release date for Top Of The World Tour Live, the eagerly-awaited double CD set and DVD chronicles of the Dixie Chicks record-shattering 2003 "Top Of The World" tour, to Friday, November 21. The DVD and CD editions of Top Of The World Tour Live were originally scheduled to be in stores on Tuesday, November 25.

Top Of The World Tour Live was recorded live on-stage during the North American leg of the Dixie Chicks historic 2003 world tour, which consisted of 79 shows in North America, Europe and Australia. The album and DVD bring together definitive performances of songs from all three of the Dixie Chicks multi-platinum albums: 1998's Wide Open Space (the best-selling debut album in country music history), 1999's Fly (the first album by a country group to debut at #1 on the Billboard Top 200) and 2002's Home (which earned the Dixie Chicks the distinction of being the first country group and the first female group, in the SoundScan era, to have had two #1 debuts on the Billboard 200). The 2 CD version of Top Of The World Tour Live features 22 songs by the Dixie Chicks while the DVD showcases 18 songs and includes the bonus video, "Top Of The World."

Shortly after the Dixie Chicks announced the group's "Top Of The World" tour at a press conference in New York on February 20, 2003, the buzz was on. The group rapidly sold more than 1 million tickets for the 66 North American shows on the "Top Of The World" itinerary, with 51 shows selling out completely on the first day of sales. In fact, first day's sales for the "Top Of The World" tour--some 867,000 tickets--were the largest in music history, eclipsing records set by Madonna, U2, the Rolling Stones, the Backstreet Boys, *NSYNC, and Paul McCartney.

Along the "Top Of The World" tour route, the Dixie Chicks were met by cheering fans and a fervent press. "....when the Dixie Chicks step onstage," wrote Dave Ferman while reviewing a Dallas performance for the Star-Telegram, "all is right with their world -- and with their fans'....They received a fitting welcome from a sold-out American Airlines crowd -- which is to say, the all-ages/more-women-than-men audience went crazy from the beginning of the first song, Goodbye Earl, and hardly let up all night."

"Maverick defiance has always been the best part of the Dixie Chicks' appeal, along with the determination to hold onto something down-home as they reach for a mass audience," wrote Jon Pareles in a New York Times review of the Chicks' Madison Square Garden performance. "Ms. Maines makes her voice leap and break in honky-tonk style, and the other two Dixie Chicks are not only singers but something rare among country hitmakers, female instrumentalists. Martie Maguire's fiddle and Emily Robison's banjo put a bluegrass streak into the band's arrangements, one reason they have been able to conquer the country mainstream without succumbing to it formulas."

Michael Eck, reviewing an Albany, New York show for the Times Union, put it succinctly, "....the Chicks have changed the face of country music of late; and the women have done it by playing music of great melody, integrity and attitude."

   Disc One:

   1.   Goodbye Earl
   2.   Some Days You Gotta Dance
   3.   There's Your Trouble
   4.   Long Time Gone
   5.   Tortured, Tangled Hearts
   6.   Travelin' Soldier
   7.   Am I The Only One (Who's Ever Felt This Way)
   8.   Hello Mr. Heartache
   9.   Cold Day In July
   10.  White Trash Wedding
   11.  Lil' Jack Slade

   Disc Two:

   12.  A Home
   13.  Truth No. 2
   14.  If I Fall You're Going Down With Me
   15.  Mississippi
   16.  Cowboy Take Me Away
   17.  Godspeed (Sweet Dreams)
   18.  Landslide
   19.  Ready To Run
   20.  Wide Open Spaces
   21.  Top Of The World
   22.  Sin Wagon

   Dixie Chicks
   Top of the World Tour Live
   CVD 56366

   DVD Video Special Features:
   *    Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
   *    Dolby Stereo
   *    Bonus Video: "Top Of The World"

   1.   Goodbye Earl
   2.   Some Days You Gotta Dance
   3.   There's Your Trouble
   4.   Long Time Gone
   5.   Tortured, Tangled Hearts
   6.   Travelin' Soldier
   7.   Hello Mr. Heartache
   8.   Cold Day In July
   9.   White Trash Wedding
   10.  Lil' Jack Slade
   11.  A Home
   12.  If I Fall You're Going Down With Me
   13.  Cowboy Take Me Away
   14.  Godspeed (Sweet Dreams)
   15.  Landslide
   16.  Ready To Run
   17.  Wide Open Spaces
   18.  Sin Wagon

   Bonus: Video "Top of the World"

SOURCE: Columbia Records; Open Wide; Monument

CONTACT: Cindi Berger, +1-212-373-6118,;
Jennifer Holiner, +1-212-373-6103,; Kathy Allmand,
+1-615-383-0412,; Claire Mercuri of
Columbia Records, 212-833-5121,

Web site: