Top Names in Hip Hop Remix Classic Tracks From the Isley Brothers for New CD


As fresh as next week's charts, the music of the Isley Brothers continues to exert a powerful influence on the widest cross-section of today's music world -- from the prime movers in hip-hop, R&B, electro-funk and Dancehall, to the outer reaches of electronica and beyond.

An impressive list of today's most accomplished musicians, producers, and poets -- among them Mos Def, of Black Eyed Peas, Raphael Saadiq of Tony! Toni! Tone! and Lucy Pearl, ONDA, Stuart Matthewman of Sweetback and Sade, Ahmir "?uest Love" Thompson of the Roots, Steven "Lenky" Marsden, Gabriel Rene, De La Soul, and Ignorants -- have contributed their talents to the new CD, THE ISLEY BROTHERS -- TAKEN TO THE NEXT PHASE (RECONSTRUCTIONS).

The disc features remixes based on ten classic Isley Brothers tracks from the 1960s, '70s and '80s. It arrives in stores August 10th on Sony Urban/Legacy, a division of Sony Music.

TAKEN TO THE NEXT PHASE pays homage to the perennial appeal of the Isleys' repertoire -- which has earned them induction into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame, the prestigious Pioneer Award of the Rhythm & Blues Foundation, and countless other honors. Last year brought two Grammy Award nominations for the Body Kiss album by The Isley Brothers featuring Ronald Isley aka Mr. Biggs.

The complete track listing is "Tell of Tales (Tell Me When You Need It Again)" by, "Take Me to the Next Phase (Part 1 & 2)" by Ignorants featuring Dead Rabbits, "That Lady (Part 1 & 2)" by Ahmir "?uest Love" Thompson, "Tonight is the Night" by Stuart Matthewman, "Summer Breeze" by ONDA featuring Esthero, "Between the Sheets" by Steven "Lenky" Marsden, "Footsteps in the Dark" by Gabriel Rene, "It's A New Thing" by D-Nat & ONDA featuring De La Soul, "Harvest for the World" by Raphael Saadiq & Kelvin Wooton, and "Beauty in the Dark (Groove With You)" by Mos Def.

SOURCE: Sony Legacy

CONTACT: Tresa Sanders of TREMEDIA, 1-845-623-2325, for Sony Legacy

Web site: