Tony Bennett's New CD, 'The Art of Romance,' to Be Released on RPM Records/Columbia Records on November 9

Bennett to Perform Week-Long Engagement at Jazz at Lincoln Center's New Rose Theatre from November 23-28 (No Show Thanksgiving Day)


RPM Records/Columbia Records will release The Art of Romance, the new CD from the legendary performer and twelve-time Grammy winner Tony Bennett, on November 9.

Bennett's consummate skill in conveying the essence of a lyric is superbly displayed in the album's twelve songs which reflect the diverse emotional complexities of love relationships.

Phil Ramone, who produced The Art of Romance, commented, "Tony Bennett is a master of nuance and tone and the songs that he embraced for this project display those aspects of his musical gifts brilliantly. This is an album that communicates with those in love, out of love and everywhere in-between." Danny Bennett, the singer's son and manager, is the album's executive producer.

The Art of Romance was recorded live at BergenPAC (formerly the John Harms Theatre) in Englewood, New Jersey, with Bennett, his touring quartet and a 60- piece orchestra. The live performance was then fed through fiber optic cables to Bennett Studios, adjacent to the theatre. Of the recording process Tony recalls, "The first day, as I walked on stage and was surrounded by all these wonderful musicians was a great moment -- it was like falling in love at first sight and that emotion just carried through until we finished making the album."

The Art of Romance also marks the singer's debut as a lyricist. The track 'All For You,' was originally an instrumental jazz standard, 'Nuage,' which Tony had admired. At his son Danny's suggestion, he decided to write lyrics to the melody and it worked. "I sat down with a piece of paper and the words just flowed out," says Tony. "It was a great experience to be on that side of the musical process." Other composers and songs featured on the recording include: Harold Arlen's 'Don't Like Goodbyes,' Stephen Sondheim's 'Being Alive,' Johnny Mandel and Alana and Marilyn Bergman's 'Where Do You Start,' among others. Johnny Mandel and Jorge Calandrelli were the arrangers for the project. Saxophonist Phil Woods and conga master Candido Camero made special appearances on the album as well. Member of Tony's touring quartet, who also performed on the album, are: Lee Musiker: piano; Paul Langosch, bass; Clayton Cameron: drums and Gray Sargent: guitar.

Tony Bennett will also participate in the gala opening of the new Jazz At Lincoln Center complex on October 18 and then return to the Lincoln Center's Rose Theatre for a week-long engagement in November during Thanksgiving Week. He will perform at this intimate 1,100 seat hall on November 23, 24, 26, 27 and 28. Show times are at 8 pm except for the Sunday performance which starts at 7 pm. Tickets are priced at $145, $115 and $95 and can be purchased by the general public starting October 12 at the venue box office, located at 60th Street and Broadway, or by calling Centercharge at 212-721-6500. American Express is presenting a pre-sale to their Gold Card members only from October 4-11. Tickets can be ordered by calling 212-721-6500.

For further information on Tony Bennett please visit: and .

  Song selections for THE ART OF ROMANCE:

  1.  "Close Enough For Love"
  2.  "All In Fun"
  3.  "Where Do You Start"
  4.  "Little Did I Dream"
  5.  "I Remember You"
  6.  "Time To Smile"
  7.  "All For You"
  8.  "The Best Man"
  9.  "Don't Like Goodbyes"
  10. "Being Alive"
  11. "Gone With The Wind"

SOURCE: Columbia Records

CONTACT: Fran DeFeo of Columbia Records, +1-212-833-5784,; or Sylvia Weiner of RPM Records, +1-908-301-1779,

Web site: