Columbia Records Readies Release of '12 Songs,' the Eagerly-Awaited New Neil Diamond Album, Produced By Rick Rubin

Special DigiPak Edition Features "12 Songs" Plus Two Bonus Tracks

"12 Songs" In Stores Tuesday, November 8


Columbia Records will release 12 Songs, the first new studio album from Neil Diamond in four years, on Tuesday, November 8.

One of the year's most heavily-anticipated new releases, 12 Songs pairs the pop music icon with legendary producer Rick Rubin. Producing a Neil Diamond album has been a long-time dream for Rubin, whose extraordinary resume spans the history of hip-hop from LL Cool J to Jay Z, the world of hardcore rock from Slayer to System Of A Down, and the pantheon of mythic stars from Tom Petty and Donovan to Mick Jagger and Johnny Cash's immortal Grammy-winning American Recordings series.

"After the first few meetings," writes Neil Diamond in his revelatory liner notes to 12 Songs, "I realized (Rick) loved music in the same way I did. For both of us it was visceral, passionate and could even be an elevating experience. It turned out that we served the same mistress -- music, and that was to become our first real connection."

According to Neil, "I locked myself in the recording studio with a whole box of number 2 pencils, a big stack of my trusty yellow legal pads and a funky old three-quarter size Martin Guitar with an E minor chord that could break your heart... Rick was determined not to rush the process, but to wait until we got to the essence of the songs I was working on. I loved the sheer freedom of creating music for its own sake."

"Most of the songs were recorded with Neil playing and singing at the same time," said Rick Rubin in a Rolling Stone article (9/22/05) profiling the producer, "and it's a different animal. It's taking him back to being more of a singer-songwriter. He really blows me away."

When it came time to record 12 Songs, Rick Rubin assembled a sympathetic ensemble of musicians to capture the essence of Neil Diamond's extraordinary new songs, each of them a finely-wrought gem, soul-searching, honest, yearning, and powerful.

A core group of musicians made up of Mike Campbell (guitar) and Benmont Tench (piano/organ) from Tom Petty's Heartbreakers and guitarist Smokey Hormel (Beck, Tom Waits) and other musicians including the renowned Larry Knechtel (piano) and Billy Preston (organ) played on the album.

The track listing for 12 Songs is: "Oh Mary," "Hell Yeah," "Captain of a Shipwreck," "Evermore," "Save Me A Saturday Night," "Delirious Love," "I'm On To You," "What's It Gonna Be," "Man of God," "Create Me," "Face Me," and "We." A special digipak edition of 12 Songs will feature two bonus tracks: "Men Are So Easy" and an alternate version of "Delirious Love" with guest artist Brian Wilson.

" ... .judging by eight finished tracks," wrote Lorraine Ali, previewing 12 Songs for Newsweek (August 1, 2005), "this is the best work Diamond has done in 30 years."

SOURCE: Columbia Records

CONTACT: Maggie Wang, of Columbia Records, +1-212-833-8208,; or Sherrie Levy, of Sherrie Levy Public Relations,
+1-212-645-5868, FAX: +1-212-929-3992

Web site: