Columbia Records Releases 'Cool Yule,' Bette Midler's First-Ever Holiday Album


Columbia Records has released Cool Yule, Bette Midler's first-ever collection of seasonal songs, available now.

Cool Yule, Midler's first new album since 2005's Top 10-charting "Bette Midler Sings The Peggy Lee Songbook," draws its name and upbeat spirit from the 1950s hipster holiday song, penned by Steve Allen, revamped by Midler for her holiday collection.

Produced by Robbie Buchanan -- whose long-time association with Bette began with playing keyboards in "The Rose" band -- and executive produced by Jay Landers (Barbra Streisand, Julio Iglesias, numerous Disney soundtracks), "Cool Yule" is a swinging celebration of that merriest of seasons, with song selections covering the many moods of Christmas ranging from beloved carols ("O Come, O Come, Emmanuel") to classic pop ("Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas," "White Christmas," and an infectious medley of "Winter Wonderland/Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!" sung with Columbia labelmate Johnny Mathis).

"Nearly every great artist eventually makes his or her imprint on this favorite time of the year," writes Jay Landers in his liner notes for "Cool Yule." "From Ella to Elvis, Sinatra to Springsteen and Bing to Sting, and of course, 'The King of Christmas' himself, Johnny Mathis. Each new season brings forth a fresh crop of music to create a soundtrack of snowy white ... no matter if you live in Nome, Alaska or Gallup, New Mexico. Now add Bette to this esteemed list."

  Bette Midler
  Cool Yule
  track listing
  1.   Merry Christmas
  2.   Cool Yule
  3.   Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  4.   Winter Wonderland / Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow! (Duet with
  5.   I'll Be Home For Christmas
  6.   What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?
  7.   I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
  8.   O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
  9.   Mele Kalikimaka
  10.  From A Distance (Christmas Version)
  11.  White Christmas

One of the world's best-loved and most versatile entertainers, Bette Midler has garnered accolades in all quarters of show business. She's earned four Grammy Awards including Song of the Year (1989: "Wind Beneath My Wings"; 1990: "From A Distance") and Record of the Year (1989: "Wind Beneath My Wings"); two Academy Award nominations, three Emmy Awards, one Tony Award, three Golden Globe Awards, and nine American Comedy Awards.

Her SRO tours have placed historically in the Top 5 grossing concerts in a calendar year. Ms. Midler has sold more than 14 million albums over the course of her career and holds 25 gold, platinum and multi-platinum certifications from the RIAA for her albums and singles including her most recent gold album, Bette Midler Sings The Rosemary Clooney Songbook, which was nominated for a Grammy in the Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album category.

SOURCE: Columbia Records

CONTACT: Media - Claire Mercuri of Columbia Records, +1-212-833-5121,

Web site: