Columbia Records Readies the Release of New Aqualung Album, 'Memory Man,' the Eagerly-Awaited Successor to 2005's Critically-Acclaimed 'Strange and Beautiful'

Aqualung's Sophomore Stateside Album Available Tuesday, March 6


Columbia Records will release Memory Man, the much-anticipated second stateside album from Aqualung, the ongoing musical project of British prodigy Matt Hales, on Tuesday, March 6, 2007.

Memory Man is the eagerly-awaited successor to Aqualung's critically- acclaimed U.S. debut, 2005's Strange and Beautiful collection, a #1 Billboard Heatseekers album which introduced American audiences to the music of Matt Hales with hits like the Triple A chart-topper "Brighter Than Sunshine" and "Strange & Beautiful (I'll Put A Spell On You)." Strange and Beautiful has gone on to sell more than 250,000 copies in the U.S.

Memory Man is the artist's first new set of songs since being named a VH1 "You Oughta Know" artist in late 2005. Aqualung headlined a VH1-presented North American concert tour that year, returning to the states in early 2006 for a series of concerts with David Gray. In addition to performing at Austin City Limits 2005 and Lollapalooza 2006, Aqualung has toured with Jason Mraz, Cary Brothers, Dido, and The Fray.

Memory Man premieres 11 new Aqualung songs, each of them written or co- written by Matt Hales with his long-time collaborators: brother Ben Hales and "co-pilot" Kim Oliver. Tracks include the album's first single, "Pressure Suit," "Outside," "Rolls So Deep," "Something To Believe In," and "Garden Of Love" featuring guest vocals from Paul Buchanan (of the Scottish cult band The Blue Nile).

As with previous Aqualung albums most of the music comes from multi- instrumentalist Matt Hales (vocals, piano, moogbass, broken synthesizer, glockenspiel, pretend orchestra, programming, harmonium, echo choir, electric guitar, Rhodes, stairwell drums, feedback, ghosts, sirens, vocoder, memoryman, noise) with invaluable contributions from Ben Hales (guitars, bass) and David Price (drums, percussion).

Made in Great Britain between May and October 2006, Memory Man is produced by Matt Hales and co-produced by Ben Hales and Dan Swift. The album was mixed in Los Angeles by Eric Valentine.

  "This is a story 'bout the three of us
  Down by the water
  And the tide is rising.
  This world is burning and I'm terrified
  I need a little more time with you
  Oh, I just need a little more time with you."
  from Broken Bones
  by Aqualung.

  Memory Man
  track listing

  Cinderella (M.Hales)
  Pressure Suit (M.Hales/B.Hales/K.Oliver)
  Something To Believe In (M.Hales/K.Oliver)
  Glimmer (M.Hales/K.Oliver)
  Vapour Trail (M.Hales/B.Hales/K.Oliver)
  Rolls So Deep (M.Hales/B.Hales)
  The Lake (M.Hales)
  Black Hole (M.Hales)
  Outside (M.Hales/K.Oliver)
  Garden Of Love (M.Hales)
  Broken Bones (M.Hales)

SOURCE: Columbia Records

CONTACT: Benny Tarantini of Columbia Records, +1-212-833-5858,

Web site: