Columbia Records Hits on 21, the Soundtrack Album From 2008's High Stakes Action Adventure, Debuting the New Track From the Grammy-Nominated LCD Soundsystem & A New Remix of the Rolling Stones Classic 'You Can't Always Get What You Want,' From Soulwax

21 Soundtrack Available Tuesday, March 18

Columbia Pictures Film 21, Starring Jim Sturgess, Kate Bosworth, with Laurence Fishburne and Kevin Spacey, Opening Nationwide On Friday, March 28


In anticipation of the nationwide release of Columbia Pictures' high stakes action adventure 21, in theaters March 28, 2008, Columbia Records will release 21, the motion picture soundtrack album, on Tuesday, March 18.

21 premieres "Big Ideas," a brand new track composed and recorded for 21 by LCD Soundsystem, the 2008 Grammy nominees for Best Electronic/Dance Album. The album debuts a sizzling version of the Rolling Stones' classic "You Can't Always Get What You Want" newly remixed for the film by the Belgian alt-rock- mixmasters Soulwax; in addition, the soundtrack brings together a breathtaking selection of new sounds from some of the hottest artists in contemporary music, including MGMT, Peter Bjorn and John, and more.

The 21 soundtrack album includes "L.S.F. (Lost Souls Forever)" by this year's Grammy winner for Producer of the Year, Mark Ronson, featuring Kasabian. The soundtrack also features "Shut Up and Drive" by Rihanna, which was awarded Best R&B Song at the 2008 People's Choice Awards. Rihanna recently won a Grammy Award for Rap/Sung Collaboration and was named the World's Best-Selling Pop Female Artist and Entertainer of the Year at the 2007 World Music Awards.

Columbia Pictures' action/adventure 21 is inspired by the true story of the very brightest young minds in the country -- and how they took Vegas for millions. Ben Campbell (Jim Sturgess) is a shy, brilliant M.I.T. student who -- needing to pay school tuition -- finds the answers in the cards. He is recruited to join a group of the school's most gifted students that heads to Vegas every weekend armed with fake identities and the know-how to turn the odds at blackjack in their favor. With unorthodox math professor and stats genius Micky Rosa (Kevin Spacey) leading the way, they've cracked the code. By counting cards and employing an intricate system of signals, the team can beat the casinos big time. Seduced by the money, the Vegas lifestyle, and by his smart and sexy teammate, Jill Taylor (Kate Bosworth), Ben begins to push the limits. Though counting cards isn't illegal, the stakes are high, and the challenge becomes not only keeping the numbers straight, but staying one step ahead of the casinos' menacing enforcer: Cole Williams (Laurence Fishburne). The film is directed by Robert Luketic. The screenplay is by Peter Steinfeld and Allan Loeb, based on the book Bringing Down the House by Ben Mezrich. The film is produced by Dana Brunetti, Kevin Spacey, and Michael De Luca.

21 is scheduled to premiere at the South By Southwest music festival in Austin, Texas on March 7 with a party celebrating the release of the 21 soundtrack album slated for SxSW on March 13.

  21 soundtrack -- track listing

  1.  You Can't Always Get What You Want -- The Rolling Stones (Soulwax
  2.  Time To Pretend -- MGMT
  3.  Big Ideas -- LCD Soundsystem
  4.  Giant -- D. Sardy featuring Liela Moss
  5.  Always -- Amon Tobin
  6.  Young Folks -- Peter Bjorn and John
  7.  Mad Pursuit -- Junkie XL featuring Electrocute
  8.  Sister Self Doubt -- Get Shakes
  9.  I Am Unknown -- The Aliens
  10. Shut Up And Drive -- Rihanna
  11. Alright -- Knivez Out
  12. Tropical Moonlight -- Domino
  13. Hold My Hand -- UNKLE
  14. L.S.F. (Lost Souls Forever) -- Mark Ronson featuring Kasabian
  15. Tender Buttons -- Broadcast



First Call Analyst:
FCMN Contact:

SOURCE: Columbia Records

CONTACT: Benny Tarantini, Columbia Records, Media, New York,
+1-212-833-5858, or

Web site: