Columbia Records Congratulates Its Artists: Adele, John Mayer, Bruce Springsteen, Mary Mary, MGMT, John Legend and Miles Davis & Producer of the Year Rick Rubin for Their 2009 Grammy Award Wins


Columbia Records congratulates its artists Adele, John Mayer, Bruce Springsteen, Mary Mary, MGMT and remixers Justice, John Legend, the late Miles Davis and album notes writer Francis Davis, as well as producer Rick Rubin for their 2009 Grammy Award wins, announced on February 8.

2009 brought first-time Grammy nominee Adele two Grammy Awards including Best New Artist and Best Female Pop Vocal Performance for the song "Chasing Pavements," a key track from her debut album "19."

Previous Columbia Records Grammy winners John Mayer, Bruce Springsteen, contemporary gospel duo Mary Mary, and John Legend added new Grammy Awards to their respective career totals.

Mayer, who won his first Grammy in 2002, took home trophies for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance (for "Say," a track from "Continuum") and Best Solo Rock Vocal Performance (for "Gravity," from "Where The Light Is - Live In Los Angeles") bringing his career total up to seven.

With 18 previous Grammy Awards to his credit, music legend Bruce Springsteen brought his career total up to 19 with this year's Best Rock Song trophy for "Girls In Their Summer Clothes," a track from the album "Magic."

Sisters Erica Atkins and Tina Atkins, a/k/a the groundbreaking contemporary gospel duo Mary Mary, added a second Grammy Award to the group's collection with 2009's Best Gospel Performance honors for "Get Up," a stand-out track from their latest album, "The Sound."

Columbia Records artist John Legend, who won his first three Grammys -- including Best New Artist -- in 2005, brought his lifetime total up to six with this year's Best R&B Performance By A Duo or Group with Vocals honors for "Lay It Down," a track he cut with Al Green for the master of soul's "Lay It Down" album (a non-Columbia Records release).

Other first-time Grammy nominees MGMT won the Best Remixed Recording, Non-Classical award for "Electric Feel," a track from the group's highly-acclaimed "Oracular Spectacular" album as remixed by the French electronic music duo Justice.

The Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings release, "Kind Of Blue: 50th Anniversary Collector's Edition," the seminal opus from legendary jazz trumpeter/composer Miles Davis, was singled out for the Best Album Notes Grammy for the lively and scholarly annotations by writer Francis Davis.

Rick Rubin won the Producer of the Year, Non-Classical Grammy Award for his work on the Columbia albums "Home Before Dark" by Neil Diamond, "Mercy (Dancing For The Death Of An Imaginary Enemy)" by Ours and "Seeing Things" by Jakob Dylan as well as non-Columbia releases. Rubin first won the Producer of the Year Grammy in 2006.

First Call Analyst:
FCMN Contact:

SOURCE: Columbia Records

CONTACT: Yvette Noel-Schure, Columbia Records, +1-212-833-4483,

Web Site: