Pearl Jam Makes Radio History as 'Brother,' a Previously Unreleased Track From 1991, Rockets to #1 on Nation's Modern Rock Charts

'Brother' Available As Bonus Cut On Forthcoming Reissue of Band's Debut Album, 'Ten,' Available Everywhere Tuesday, March 24, 2009


The quintessential modern rock band Pearl Jam is making radio history this week as "Brother," a previously unreleased track recorded more than 18 years ago, rockets into the #1 slot on the BDS/R&R Modern Rock Chart a mere four weeks after entering the chart.

(Logo: )

With the #1 success of "Brother," Pearl Jam joins the Beatles ("Free As A Bird") and Elvis Presley ("A Little Less Conversation") as one of the select few bands or artists to ever hit #1 with a track recorded decades prior.

Recorded in 1991 during the sessions that produced Ten, the band's classic breakout debut album, "Brother" is Pearl Jam's fourth #1 Modern Rock single, joining the ranks of "Daughter," "Who You Are," and "Worldwide Suicide." A fifth Pearl Jam single, "Last Kiss," peaked at #2 on the Modern Rock Chart.

In addition to its #1 Modern Rock status, "Brother" is bulleting up the charts on a variety of rock radio formats including BDS Alternative (#1), BDS Active (#7), Mediabase Alternative (#2), Mediabase Active (#8), Mediabase Mainstream (#3) and Mediabase Classic Rock (#20), garnering a total listening audience to-date of some 53.38 million listeners.

Pearl Jam's "Brother" is available for the first time as a bonus cut on the upcoming reissue of Ten on Epic/Legacy Recordings.

On Tuesday, March 24, Legacy will release four special edition packages of Ten, each of them featuring two versions of the album: the remastered version of the original album PLUS an accompanying remixed version done by the band's long-time producer, Brendan O'Brien (Bruce Springsteen, AC/DC, Audioslave).

The new editions will include:

Legacy Edition (a 2-disc set in a mini-LP style slipcase featuring six bonus tracks: "Brother," "Just A Girl," "State of Love and Trust," "Breath and a Scream," "2,000 Mile Blues" and "Evil Little Goat");

Deluxe Edition (a 2-disc set plus the long-awaited first-ever release of Pearl Jam's mythic 1992 MTV Unplugged concert including never-before-seen bonus performance of "Oceans" with a 5.1 Surround Sound audio remix);

Vinyl Collection (two 12" LPs of the original Ten tracklisting remastered for vinyl including the new Brendan O'Brien remix);

Super Deluxe Edition (a 2-disc set plus DVD, 4 LPs including 1992's "Live at Magnuson Park" mixed by Brendan O'Brien, a cassette replica of the legendary "Momma-Son" demos of "Alive," "Once" and "Footsteps" and an Eddie Vedder-style composition notebook filled with replica personal notes, images and mementos from the collections of Eddie Vedder and Jeff Ament, a vellum envelope with replicated era specific ephemera from Pearl Jam's early work and a two-sided print commemorating the Drop in the Park concert).

Rock Band

On December 15, 2008, Harmonix, the world's premier music video game development company, and MTV Games, a part of Viacom's MTV Networks (NYSE: VIA)(NYSE: VIA.B), confirmed that Ten, the debut album that sold 12 million copies and introduced the world to Pearl Jam in 1991, would be offered for download in the Rock Band Music Store day-and-date with the re-issue of the album in stores on March 24, 2009.

In addition to the track "Alive" which is already available on the Rock Band 2 game disc, the Pearl Jam Ten download pack will include the additional 10 songs from the album: "Once," "Even Flow," "Why Go," "Black," "Jeremy," "Oceans," "Porch," "Garden," "Deep," and "Release."

About Ten

Pearl Jam first released Ten on August 27, 1991. The album reached #2 on the Billboard 200 chart, sold over 12 million copies and became one of the cultural touchstones of the 1990s. Songs such as "Alive," "Black," "Even Flow" and "Jeremy" became staples of rock radio, and still make frequent appearances on the band's ever-changing concert setlists. The album was produced by Rick Parasher. Pearl Jam's 1991 lineup was Jeff Ament (bass), Stone Gossard (guitar), Dave Krusen (drums), Mike McCready (guitar) and Eddie Vedder (vocals/guitar).

First Call Analyst:
FCMN Contact:

PRN Photo Desk,

SOURCE: Legacy Recordings

CONTACT: Tom Cording, VP of Media Relations, Sony Music - Legacy,