Singer/Songwriter Raheem DeVaughn Returns With New Album 'The Love and War Masterpeace' On March 2nd

Esteemed Scholar Dr. Cornel West Appears On Album Interludes


Jive Records singer/songwriter Raheem DeVaughn is set to release his third album The Love and War Masterpeace in stores March 2, as his first single "Bulletproof" featuring Ludacris rises on the charts. The track currently holds its place in the Top 20 on Billboard's Urban Adult Contemporary airplay chart this week with the video in rotation on the VH1 Soul and BET Centric networks.

"I named the album 'The Love and War Masterpeace' because I feel that where I am as a person and where we are as a people, we are all trying to master that internal peace and happiness in a very strange time," says the Washington, DC native. "Bulletproof" follows the politically minded thread of the album, addressing the social ills of the times. Scholar Dr. Cornel West weighs in on several interludes drawing from his background as a prominent leader in civil rights issues and expertise in progressive politics, jazz and justice.

Kenny Dope produced most of the album including "Bulletproof." Ne-Yo, Stereotypes and Ronnie "Lil Ronnie" Jackson also contribute to the production. His second single "I Don't Care" impacts Urban Adult Contemporary radio on January 25.

DeVaughn earned two Grammy nods from his sophomore effort Love Behind The Melody for Best Male R& B Performance for his # 1 smash UAC hit "Woman" and for Best R&B Song for his Top 15 Urban Mainstream single "Customer." With the success from Love Behind The Melody (which debuted at # 1 on Billboard's Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums Chart ) he garnered two 2008 BET J Awards for Best Male R&B artist and Album of the Year.

DeVaughn is primed for another high-profile year with the release of The Love and War and Masterpeace. The self-described "R&B/hippie/neo-soul/rock star" will make his acting debut this spring in the upcoming film Who Do You Love depicting the story of Chess Records.

  Track listing for THE LOVE AND WAR MASTERPEACE is as follows:

  1.  Dr. West (Interlude)
  2.  Bulletproof featuring Ludacris  (Produced by Kenny Dope)
  3.  The Greatness featuring Wale (Produced by Kenny Dope)
  4.  I Don't Care (Produced by Stereotypes/Co-Produced by Ne-Yo)
  5.  Black & Blue (Produced by Ronnie "Lil Ronnie" Jackson)

6. Mr. Right (Produced by Ivan "Orthodox" Barias & Carvin "Ransum" Haggins

  7.  Dr. West (Interlude)
  8.  Fragile featuring Malik Yusef (Produced by Kenny Dope)
  9.  My Wife (Produced by Kenny Dope)
  10. B.O.B. (Produced by Big Bob, Symfoniz & Jerry Juke Vines)
  11. Bedroom (Produced by Kenny Dope)
  12. Microphone (Produced by Ronnie "Lil Ronnie" Jackson)
  13. Garden of Love (Produced by Kenny Dope)
  14. Dr. West (Interlude)
  15. Revelations 2010 featuring Damien Marley  (Produced by Kenny Dope)

16. Nobody Wins a War featuring Jill Scott, Bilal, Anthony Hamilton, Algebra, Chrisette Michele, Shelby Johnson, Ledisi, Citizen Cope, Dwele, Chico DeBarge and Rudy Currence (Produced by Kenny Dope)

There will also be a 2-disc Deluxe version of THE LOVE AND WAR MASTERPEACE with seven additional songs:

  1.  Dr. West (Interlude)
  2.  Wing & a Prayer featuring Bun B (Produced by Jamil "Face" Johnson)
  3.  Dr. West (Interlude)
  4.  Super Hero (featuring Produced by Sound of the City Music Group)
  5.  Soldier's Story (Produced by Kenny Dope)
  6.  Dr. West (Interlude)
  7.  Hopeless Romantic (Produced by Kenny Dope)
  8.  Lose Control featuring Phil Ade' (Produced by Kenny Dope)
  9.  Calling Me (Produced by DeAndre' "Dre King" Shaifer)
  10. XOXO (Produced by Ronnie "Lil Ronnie" Jackson)
  11. Dr. West (Interlude)

First Call Analyst:
FCMN Contact:

SOURCE: JIVE Label Group

CONTACT: Tice Merriweather, +1-212-833-6479,

Web Site: