Jakob Dylan 'Women and Country'

New album set for release on April 6th marks reunion with producer T Bone Burnett and features guest vocals from Neko Case & Kelly Hogan


Jakob Dylan will release his sophomore solo album, Women and Country, on Columbia Records on April 6th, 2010. Soulful yet striking and ripe with sublime beauty, Women and Country is the follow up to the artist's 2008 critically acclaimed debut, Seeing Things. This new collection finds him reuniting with acclaimed Grammy and Golden Globe winning producer T Bone Burnett (Robert Plant, Alison Krauss, Crazy Heart), who produced the Wallflowers' 1996 breakthrough album Bringing Down the Horse. On the release, Jakob is also joined by Neko Case and Kelly Hogan, who provide back-up vocals to 8 of the album's 11 tracks.

"I'm so happy to be collaborating with Jakob at this exciting and vital time in his life as an artist," said T Bone Burnett. "I think this new album is an important work from a great musician."

Recorded in Los Angeles, CA, Women and Country is the full realization of a journey Jakob Dylan began on his previous solo release Seeing Things, which hearkens back to the timeless artistry of American roots music and country blues masters. Seeing Things garnered significant critical praise for Dylan including The Los Angeles Times who called him "a gifted storyteller" and USA Today who said the release was "an evocative acoustic album that reveals the poetic grace of his lyrics and the maturity and moving power of his voice." On Women and Country Jakob reaches new majestic heights with his voice and song-writing that are as distinct as. This, coupled with T Bone Burnett's haunting production and the stirringly rich vocals by Neko Case and Kelly Hogan, creates a powerful and melancholic experience for the listener.

Backing Jakob Dylan up on the album's 11 songs are T Bone Burnett's s acclaimed group of musicians including Dennis Crouch (bass), Jay Bellerose (drums), David Mansfield (fiddle & mandolin), Marc Ribot (guitar), Keefus Ciancia (keyboards), Greg Leisz (pedal steel), Darrell Leonard (trumpet), Ira Nepus (trombone) and George Bohanon (horns). Standout tracks include the opener "Nothin' But the Whole Wide World," which sets the tone of the album, the pensive ballad "Down on Our Own Shield," "Everybody's Hurting," which showcases Jakob and Neko's moving harmonies and "Truth for a Truth" that features great guitar work from Marc Ribot.

Track Listing for Jakob Dylan's new album 'Women and Country' is as follows:

  1. Nothing But The Whole Wide World
  2. Down On Our Shield
  3. Lend A Hand
  4. We Don't Live Here Anymore
  5. Everybody's Hurting
  6. Yonder Come the Blues
  7. Holy Rollers for Love
  8. Truth For A Truth
  9. They've Trapped US Boys
  10. Smile When You Call Me That
  11. Standing Eight Count

Jakob Dylan will be announcing additional album details and tour news in the coming weeks. For more information please go to www.jakobdylan.com.

First Call Analyst:
FCMN Contact:

SOURCE: Columbia Records

CONTACT: Carleen Donovan, or Rachel Gomez, Press Here Publicity,
+1-212-246-2640, Carleen@pressherepublicity.com; or Benny Tarantini, Columbia
Records, +1-212-833-5858, benny.tarantini@sonymusic.com

Web Site: http://www.jakobdylan.com/