Cuban Musician Pedrito Martinez Merges Cuban and Flamenco Rumba On New Album, Rumba De La Isla

Features Songs Once Interpreted By Camaron de la Isla

Available March 12, 2013 from Sony Masterworks and Calle 54 Records


NEW YORK, Feb. 14, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Sony Masterworks in partnership with Calle 54 Records will release Cuban musician, Pedrito Martinez's new album Rumba de la Isla on March 12th, 2013. Featuring songs once interpreted by Camaron de la Isla, the legendary flamenco icon, Rumba de la Isla is produced by Fernando Trueba and Nat Chediak. The album celebrates the convergence of both the Cuban and Flamenco rumbas. The great rumbero Pedrito Martinez manages to integrate, in his own personal way, classic songs by Camaron de la Isla in a unique tribute to the greatest flamenco artist of all times.

Alongside Pedrito Martinez (vocals, conga drums, chekere, cowbell and harmonies), Rumba de la Isla features many important musicians, who are "essential figures of Cuban music and flamenco." On the Spanish side, collaborators include Nino Josele, playing the guitar and Pirana (the cajon flamenco) and John Benitez, a double bass and bass player from New York. Adding to the list are Alfredo de la Fe – the legendary violin player born in La Habana and current resident of New York, and Roman Diaz (cajon, batas, spoon and vocals). Xiomara Laugart and Abraham Rodriguez are included to contribute to the harmonizing vocals.

From the daring first track, "Que a mi me vio de nacer" to the last, "Homenaje a Camaron" (written by Pedrito Martinez and Roman Diaz), Rumba de la Isla boasts originality and moves away from well-trodden musical paths while providing a creative merge of Cuban and flamenco music. The record does not include any trite "rumbita-con-son" tracks—instead, it has a percussion basis which along with delightful guitar and violin arrangements, enrich the songs musically and dive directly into the essence of Cuban music.    

Pedrito Martinez was born in La Habana in 1973, but has lived in New York since 2000. He has recorded and toured with Paquito D'Rivera, Brian Lynch, Steve Turre, Me'shell Ndege'Ocello, Eddie Palmieri, Bill Summers and Los Hombres Calientes, Arturo "Chico" O'Farrill, Stefon Harris, Bebo Valdes, Cassandra Wilson, Joe Lovano, Isaac Delgado, Gonzalo Rubalcaba, Edie Brickell, Eliane Elias, and Sting. He also took part in the film Calle 54, directed by Fernando Trueba in 2000. Pedrito Martinez has received six Grammy nominations, winning for Simpatico, on which he collaborated with Eddie Palmieri and Bryan Lynch. Martinez was also a member of Yerba Buena, a band he recorded and toured with worldwide, accompanying artists like Dave Matthews, Willie Nelson and Ray Charles.  


01 Que a mi me vio de nacer
02 Yo vivo enamorao
03 Dos estrellas relucientes
04 Solo vivo pa' quererte
05 Volando voy
06 Quiero quitarme esa pena
07 No naqueres na' de mi
08 Gitana te quiero
09 Homenaje a Camaron

Sony Masterworks comprises Masterworks Broadway, Masterworks, Okeh, Portrait, RCA Red Seal and Sony Classical imprints. For email updates and information please visit

SOURCE Sony Masterworks

For further information: DL Media, +1-610-667-0501, Jordy Freed,, Don Lucoff,; or Sony Masterworks, Angela Barkan,, +1-212-833-8575, Larissa Slezak,, +1-212-833-6075