Columbia Records To Release Sending You A Little Christmas, A New Collection Of Holiday Music From The Legendary Johnny Mathis

Johnny's Latest Seasonal Collection Premieres Newly Recorded Duets with Susan Boyle, Jim Brickman, Natalie Cole, Gloria Estefan, Vince Gill, Amy Grant, Billy Joel and The Jordanaires

Available Everywhere Tuesday, October 29, 2013


NEW YORK, Sept. 24, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Columbia Records will release Sending You A Little Christmas, a newly-recorded collection of seasonal music from the legendary Johnny Mathis and a Christmas wish-list of guest artists, on Tuesday, October 29, 2013.  The album is currently available for pre-order at Amazon here.

Johnny's first collection of new seasonal recordings since the release of The Christmas Album in 2002, Sending You A Little Christmas is the artist's first holiday duets album (and first duets album since 1991's Better Together) and finds the singer sharing the Yuletide spirit with a number of special guest artists including Susan Boyle ("Do You Hear What I Hear"), Jim Brickman ("Sending You a Little Christmas"), Natalie Cole ("Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas"), Gloria Estefan ("Mary's Boy Child"), Vince Gill and Amy Grant ("I'll Be Home for Christmas"/"White Christmas"), Billy Joel ("The Christmas Song"), and The Jordanaires ("Home For The Holidays").

Sending You A Little Christmas is the artist's sixth album of newly recorded seasonal sounds since Merry Christmas, his 1958 perennial, established Mathis as a warm and familiar holiday presence on home and car radios around the world.  Few recording artists are more associated with the sound and spirit of the Christmas season than Johnny Mathis.  On Sending You A Little Christmas, Mathis lends his incomparable vocal stylings to a rich selection of Christmas standards and future yuletide classics.  

Sending You A Little Christmas was produced by Fred Mollin, who first collaborated with Johnny on 2010's Grammy Award nominated Let It Be Me: Mathis In Nashville.

Johnny Mathis' million-selling previous holiday albums have included Merry Christmas (1958), The Sounds of Christmas (1963), Give Me Your Love For Christmas (1969), Johnny Mathis For Christmas (1984), and Christmas Eve With Johnny Mathis (1986).

Johnny Mathis
Sending You A Little Christmas

1.   The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire) (Duet with Billy Joel)

2.   Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (Duet with Natalie Cole)

3.   This Christmas

4.   Sending You a Little Christmas (Duet with Jim Brickman)

5.   Mary's Boy Child (Duet with Gloria Estefan)

6.   This Is A Time For Love

7.   Do You Hear What I Hear (Duet with Susan Boyle)

8.   Home for the Holidays (featuring The Jordanaires)

9.   Merry Christmas Darling

10. Decorate the Night

11. I'll Be Home for Christmas / White Christmas (Duet with Vince Gill and Amy Grant)

12. Count Your Blessings (Instead of Sheep)

Signed to Columbia Records in the mid-1950's, Johnny Mathis is the longest-running artist on the label.  A sublime vocalist whose approach to pop music transcends passing fads and trends, Johnny Mathis has performed songs in an incredible variety of styles and categories -- from music composed for stage and film to golden era jazz standards, contemporary pop hits, and holiday music both sacred and secular -- assuring his reputation as one of the most enduring traditional pop vocalists in music history.

Perhaps best-known for his landmark singles (three of his recordings--"Chances Are," "It's Not For Me To Say," and "Misty"--have been inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame) Mathis was one of the very first musical artists to embrace the album concept and record fully-realized thematically and sonically coherent collections of songs.  His 1958 release, Johnny's Greatest Hits inaugurated the ongoing "greatest hits" anthology phenomenon becoming one of the most popular albums of all time after spending an unprecedented 490 continuous weeks (almost ten years) on the BILLBOARD Top Albums Chart.  Johnny Mathis was given the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences in 2003.

SOURCE Columbia Records

For further information: Fran DeFeo, 917-767-5255,; Dariel Abramowitz, Columbia Records, 212-833-8606,