Two Original Motion Picture Soundtracks For St. Vincent Available Digitally On October 21 And On CD On October 27




NEW YORK, Oct. 21, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- Sony Classical is delighted to announce the release of songs from the original motion-picture soundtrack and the original score by Theodore Shapiro from the upcoming movie St. Vincent available digitally on October 21 and on CD on October 27. A comedy drama, St. Vincent opens nationwide on October 24 and stars Academy Award® nominees Bill Murray, Melissa McCarthy and Naomi Watts.

The song soundtrack album includes classics from the 1960s and 1970s, such as Bob Dylan's "Shelter From The Storm" from the 1975 album Blood on the Tracks. Jeff Tweedy provides two songs: the funky "Everybody Hides" and the laid-back "Why, Why, Why." In between comes a contrasting classic, the straight-hitting vocals of Jefferson Airplane's "Somebody To Love." This was the band's first and biggest hit, a single from the album Surrealistic Pillow in 1967.

Fitting the quirky, bad behavior of Bill Murray's character, the soundtrack continues with "Stripper Pole" by Nyzzy Nyce, a high-pitched number with a fast beat, and two songs with country-music influence: "One Toke Over The Line" by Brewer & Shipley and the laid-back "Hard to Find" by JD & The Straight Shot. Among the big names on the compilation is The National, performing "Start a War" with a beautifully twangy guitar accompaniment to Matt Berninger's deep voice. A cheerful Russian electro-pop number is followed by Bob Dylan's "Shelter from the Storm." It all adds up to fantastic musical fun in the spirit of the film.

Sony Classical will also release an album with the original score soundtrack by Theodore Shapiro. He made his name composing soundtracks for some of the biggest comedy movie hits of recent years: The Devil Wears Prada, Tropic Thunder, Marley & Me, Along Came Polly, You, Me and Dupree, Did You Hear About the Morgans? – and most recently The Secret Life of Walter Mitty on which he cooperated with indie folk singer-songwriter Jose Gonzales.

About the movie
In ST. VINCENT, Maggie (Melissa McCarthy), a single mother, moves into a new home in Brooklyn with her 12-year old son, Oliver (Jaeden Lieberher). Forced to work long hours, she has no choice but to leave Oliver in the care of their new neighbor, Vincent (Bill Murray), a retired curmudgeon with a penchant for alcohol and gambling. An odd friendship soon blossoms between the improbable pair. Together with a pregnant stripper named Daka (Naomi Watts), Vincent brings Oliver along on all the stops that make up his daily routine – the race track, a strip club, and the local dive bar. Vincent helps Oliver grow to become a man, while Oliver begins to see in Vincent something that no one else is able to: a misunderstood man with a good heart.

Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Tracklist

  1. Everyone Hides / Jeff Tweedy
  2. Try Loving Me / The Webs
  3. Somebody To Love / Jefferson Airplane
  4. Why Why Why / Jeff Tweedy
  5. You Da One / Ca$hizz Klay featuring Fingazz
  6. Stripper Pole / Nyzzy Nyce
  7. One Toke Over The Line / Brewer & Shipley
  8. Further On / Bronze Radio Return
  9. Hard to Find / JD & The Straight Shot
  10. Start A War / The National
  11. Molodaya Luna / Vechyaslav Samarin
  12. Shelter From The Storm / Bob Dylan

Original Score Tracklist

  1. Long Walk Home   
  2. Gym Class   
  3. Life of Vin   
  4. Be Good   
  5. Vin and Zucko   
  6. Standard Operating Procedure   
  7. Small Means Nothing   
  8. Nosebreaker   
  9. Daka's Ultrasound   
  10. At The Track   
  11. Broken Glass   
  12. Saints Among Us   
  13. Stroke   
  14. Break Through   
  15. Fresh Crab   
  16. Bad News   
  17. Meet Imelda   
  18. To The Moon   
  19. Interviews   
  20. St. Vincent of Sheepshead Bay   

Sony Music Masterworks comprises Masterworks, Sony Classical, OKeh, Portrait, Masterworks Broadway and Flying Buddha imprints. For email updates and information please visit

To view the original version on PR Newswire, visit:

SOURCE Sony Classical

For further information: Beth Krakower / CineMedia Promotions /, Angela Barkan / Larissa Slezak / Sony Music Masterworks, 212.833.8575 / 6075 / /