Soprano Olga Peretyatko Releases New Album - Rossini! Available Now On Sony Classical


- Gilda in Rigoletto at The Metropolitan Opera: October/November

- Kennedy Center Debut with National Symphony Orchestra: October 1-3

"Olga Peretyatko sings dazzlingly." (The New York Times, "Lucio Silla")


NEW YORK, Sept. 4, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- The remarkable young soprano Olga Peretyatko returns with the release of her third album Rossini! (Sony Classical).  Available now, the recording is entirely dedicated to arias by the composer.

On October 1 – 3, she makes her Kennedy Center debut in Washington, D.C., performing Strauss' Four Last Songs with the National Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Donald Runnicles, who also makes his NSO debut at these concerts. Ms. Peretyatko returns to the Metropolitan Opera for the leading role of Gilda in Verdi's Rigoletto, October 20 – November 19.  Pablo Heras-Casado will lead the orchestra in Michael Mayer's electrifying production of the opera, which is set in a 1960's Las Vegas casino.

One of the world's most sought-after sopranos, Ms. Peretyatko's incredible last two seasons featured her in praised debuts at Vienna State Opera, Zurich Opera House, Verona Arena, Berlin State Opera and La Scala in Milan, followed by her acclaimed debut at the Metropolitan Opera in I Puritani last April. 2015 included her role debut as Violetta in La traviata in Lausanne and Baden-Baden Festival, her return to the Vienna State Opera (I Puritani), along with a second appearance at La Scala (Otello). The upcoming season also features several other milestones, including her debuts at La Monnaie in Brussels (L'Elisir d'amore) in September 2015 and at the Madrid Teatro Real in late fall and Paris Opera Bastille in early 2016 (Rigoletto).

The Latest CD - Olga Peretyatko: Rossini!
The arias that Ms. Peretyatko has chosen for this recording clearly display her gifts as a bel canto specialist: flexible coloratura passage-work, brilliant high notes placed with pinpoint accuracy, and expressive legato phrasing. The works also reflect the soprano's versatility in both comic operas such as Il barbiere di Siviglia and a serious work like Tancredi. She begins the CD with two different roles from Il viaggio a Reims, the opera she performed at her Rossini Opera Festival debut at the request of legendary Rossini conductor Alberto Zedda. It was Olga Peretyatko's wish for him to record this album with the Orchestra del Teatro Comunale di Bologna and he accepted especially for her. Next is the rarely-heard aria "Ami alfine?" from Matilde di Shabran, the work that brought her back to Pesaro in 2012. She continues with Amenaide's dramatic dungeon scene from Tancredi, a role she performed in a concert version of the work in Moscow, followed by "Bel raggio lusinghier" from Semiramide, one of Rossini's most important opera seria. Peretyatko reveals her lighter side with arguably the most famous work on the album, Rosina's "Una voce poco fa" from Il barbiere di Siviglia, and comes to a glorious close with an aria from Il turco in Italia, the opera that has brought her repeated success in Amsterdam, Munich, at Festival d'Aix-en-Provence and that she will perform at the Rossini Opera Festival in summer 2016.  

Of special note, upon completion of Rossini!, Ms. Peretyatko gave a free, multi-media concert in the composer's adopted city of Bologna—accompanied by the Orchestra del Teatro Comunale di Bologna and Maestro Zedda—to show her appreciation for the central role Rossini has played in her career.  The event featured video, interviews, and all works on the new CD. 

Ms. Peretyatko's two previous Sony Classical CDs are La bellezza del canto featuring arias by Donizetti, Verdi, Offenbach, Massenet, and others (2011); and Arabesque, a collection of mostly 19th century showpieces (2014).

Rossini! Track List

  1. Il viaggio a Reims: Partir, oh ciel!
  2. Il viaggio a Reims: All'ombra amena
  3. Matilde di Shabran: Ami alfine
  4. Tancredi: Non che il morir
  5. Semiramide: Bel raggio lusinghier
  6. Il barbiere di Siviglia: Una voce poco fa
  7. Il turco in Italia: I vostri cenci vi mando

Catalogue number : 88875057412

Sony Masterworks comprises, Masterworks, Okeh, Portrait, Sony Classical, RCA Red Seal, and Masterworks Broadway imprints. For email updates and information please visit

Olga Peretyatko
Soprano Olga Peretyatko's 2015 season has already been marked by a number of notable achievements.  She debuted to rave reviews as Violetta in La traviata at the Opéra Lausanne, followed by a new production of the opera at the Festspielhaus in Baden-Baden. In addition to her October appearance at the Met in Rigoletto, upcoming highlights are a return to the Vienna State Opera (I Puritani) and La Scala (Otello), as well as debuts at Copenhagen's Tivoli (I Puritani), at La Monnaie in Brussels (L'Elisir d'amore), and the Teatro Real (Rigoletto).

Ms. Peretyatko was born and raised in St. Petersburg, Russia. She started her musical career at the age of 15, singing in the children's choir of the Mariinsky Theatre, and later studied singing at the Berlin's Hanns Eisler-Hochschule für Musik. From 2005 to 2007 Olga Peretyatko was a member of the Hamburg State Opera studio, and went on to perform at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Berlin and Munich State Operas, the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées in Paris, La Fenice in Venice, and at the Festival La Folle journée de Nantes.  Her 2006 arrival at the Rossini Opera Festival in Pesaro brought a global awareness to her special skills with the composer's works.

Olga Peretyatko gained international attention as Stravinsky's Rossignol in Robert Lepage's acclaimed 2009 Toronto production, subsequently presented at the 2010 Aix Festival, the Opéra Lyon, the Brooklyn Academy of Music, and the Netherlands Opera.  In 2011, she debuted as Giulietta (I Capuleti e I Montecchi) in Lyon and Paris, and in Amsterdam as Fiorilla (ll Turco in Italia). She also received outstanding notices as Matilde di Shabran at the 2012 Rossini Opera Festival, a production released on DVD by Decca.

In 2013 and 2014, Olga Peretyatko's leading role performances included debuts at the Metropolitan Opera (I Puritani), Vienna State Opera and Zurich Opera House (Rigoletto), the Berlin State Opera and La Scala (Die Zarenbraut); as well as engagements at the Deutsche Oper Berlin (L'elisir d'amore) and the Hamburg State Opera (L'elisir d'amore and Ariadne auf Naxos), She also returned to the Aix-en-Provence Festival, toured China with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, and performed for more than 600,000 people at Le Concert de Paris 2014 Bastille Day celebrations at the Eiffel Tower

Olga Peretyatko performs regularly in recitals and concerts throughout the world and has an exclusive recording contract with Sony Classical. Her numerous awards include a prize in Plácido Domingo's international Operalia competition and Italy's National Association of Music Critics Franco Abbiati Prize as best female singer for her 2014 performance of Marfa in The Tsar's Bride at La Scala.

For more information on Olga Peretyatko, please click on

Press downloads for Rossini! are available upon request.

Media Contact:
Pascal Nadon, Pascal Nadon Communications
(646) 234-7088 (in New York)

Angela Barkan / Larissa Slezak 212-833-8575 / 6075


SOURCE Sony Classical