Legacy Recordings Set to Release JACO: Original Soundtrack on Friday, November 27, 2015 (Record Store Day Black Friday 2015)

Album of Music from Upcoming Film Documenting the Life of Legendary Bassist Jaco Pastorius Premieres Three Brand New Recordings


NEW YORK, Oct. 20, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, will release JACO: Original Soundtrack on Friday, November 27, 2015.
Pre-order available here: http://smarturl.it/JACO_Sdtk_amazon

A single-disc collection of music from the forthcoming documentary film, "JACO," the JACO: Original Soundtrack premieres three brand-new recordings including two riveting interpretations of Jaco classics: "Come On Come Over" by Mass Mental (featuring Robert Trujillo, Armand Sabal-Lecco, Flea, Whit Crane, Benji Webbe, Stephen Perkins & C-Minus) and "Continuum" by Rodrigo y Gabriel; and "Shine," the new track by Tech N9ne containing a sample of "Kuru," as recorded by Jaco Pastorius.

Produced by Robert Trujillo and Jaco's eldest son John Pastorius IV, JACO: Original Soundtrack brings together 16 essential recordings including Jaco Pastorius solo tracks, Weather Report masterpieces and musical collaborations with Joni Mitchell, Ian Hunter, Herbie Hancock and more. The album offers music fans the rare evocative sonic soundscape, "Longing," featuring Jaco's daughter Mary Pastorius (vox), Chuck Doom (bass), Robert Thomas, Jr. (hand drums/drum kit) and God (rain/thunder).

A full-length documentary film chronicling the life, music and ongoing influence of the mythic electric bass pioneer Jaco Pastorius, "JACO" is produced by Robert Trujillo (bassist: Metallica, Infectious Grooves, Mass Mental) John Pastorius IV, Bob Bobbing, and John Battsek of Passion Pictures ("Searching for Sugar Man," "Project Nim") and marks the directorial debut of documentary filmmaker Paul Marchand and Stephen Kijak ("Scott Walker: 30 Century Man," "Cinemania"). "JACO" incorporates interviews with musical visionaries including Sting, Joni Mitchell, Flea, Jerry Jemmott, Bootsy Collins, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Carlos Santana and others with never-before-seen photos and films from the Pastorius family archive. This extraordinary film reveals the story behind Jaco's life and music, both as a solo artist and member of Weather Report, the tragic arc of his demise and early death and the enduring influence and inspiration of his artistry and genius.

Legacy's JACO: Original Soundtrack includes liner notes on Jaco Pastorius penned by Robert Trujillo and album co-producer Chuck Doom.

Also slated for consumer home release on November 27, "JACO," the documentary, will be available via VOD, streaming services, digital download and on DVD and Blu-ray.

"JACO" had its world premiere earlier this year at Austin's SxSW Film Conference & Festival, accompanied by a panel discussion featuring filmmakers Trujillo and Marchand as well as longtime Pastorius collaborator Peter Erskine (Weather Report, Word of Mouth) and Executive Producer John Pastorius.

"JACO" has garnered acclaim at a number of major festivals, including the inaugural Asbury Park Music in Film Festival and the Montreal International Jazz Festival. The film "(captures) the essence of what made Jaco Pastorius such an influential artist," declared the Montreal Gazette, praising "the glowing words of Marchand's interviewees and the many recorded and live musical excerpts that he lets speak for themselves" and hailing "JACO" as "an enlightening introduction to a groundbreaking musician."

On Thursday, November 22 at 7pm, The Theatre at Ace Hotel will host a special screening of the critically acclaimed documentary JACO. The screening will be followed by a 9pm performance by Trujillo and fun rock collective Mass Mental, featuring Armand Sabal-Lecco, Brooks Wackerman, Whit Crane and Stevie Salas. Hipster Assassins featuring Felix Pastorius, Mike Bendy, John Bendy, Chris Ward and Kenny Grohowski will also be performing.

For more information on the screening, please visit: http://www.acehotel.com/calendar/losangeles/jaco-documentary-film-and-concert

jacothefilm.com, www.facebook.com/jacodocumentary, instagram.com/jacofilm, twitter.com/JACOFilm (@JACOFilm).

JACO: Original Soundtrack
Compilation Produced by Robert Trujillo & Johnny Pastorius

  1. Come On, Come Over - Jaco Pastorius
  2. Continuum - Jaco Pastorius
  3. River People - Weather Report
  4. Teen Town - Weather Report
  5. Portrait of Tracy - Jaco Pastorius
  6. The Dry Cleaner From Des Moines (Live Version) - Joni Mitchell
  7. All American Alien Boy - Ian Hunter
  8. Liberty City (with Herbie Hancock) - Jaco Pastorius
  9. Okonkole Y Trompa - Jaco Pastorius
  10. Barbary Coast - Weather Report
  11. Crisis - Jaco Pastorius
  12. Longing - Mary Pastorius
  13. Nineteen Eighty Seven - †††
  14. Shine - Tech N9ne
  15. Continuum - Rodrigo y Gabriela
  16. Come On Come Over - Mass Mental (featuring Robert Trujillo, Armand Sabal-Lecco, Flea, Whit Crane, Benji Webbe, Stephen Perkins & C-Minus)
Legacy Recordings logo. Division of SONY Music Entertainment.

Photo - http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20151019/278197
Logo -  http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20060130/LEGACYLOGO

SOURCE Legacy Recordings

For further information: Tom Cording, Legacy Media; Tom.Cording@sonymusic.com; Gabby Gibb, Legacy Media: Gabby.Gibb@sonymusic.com; Ken Weinstein; Weinstein@bighassle.com