Studio A Revisited Puts Historic 1965-66 Dylan Sessions In The Hands Of Fans Worldwide


NEW YORK, Nov. 6, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- Studio 6, Havas Worldwide's content production studio, will launch an interactive microsite on November 6 to celebrate the release of Bootleg Series Volume 12, The Cutting Edge from Sony Legacy Recordings. The site, "Studio A Revisited," recreates the 1965-1966 recording experience in a contemporary and dynamic way, giving fans their first-ever chance to revisit these legendary sessions across devices and mix the songs of a musical genius.

Studio A Revisited is composed of three experiences: "Jam Session," where users can play with four track studio "stems"—made available to the public for the very first time—to mix songs such as Like A Rolling Stone; "Listening Session," an interactive timeline featuring snippets of songs in their unfinished form, photographs, stories, studio artifacts, and sound engineer notations; and "Singing Session," which lets fans step up to the microphone in an attempt to match Dylan's unique phrasing and timbre. 

"In the past, our relationship with our musical heroes was one-sided. They released music and we listened to it. But this no longer has to be where the experience ends," says Can Misirlioglu, Group Creative Director, Havas Studio 6. "Studio A Revisited speaks to the part of all of us that wants to be in the room with Dylan, but on our own terms, in a way that's accessible, intuitive, and immediate."

"Bob Dylan's mid-60s albums—Bringing It All Back HomeHighway 61 Revisited, and Blonde On Blonde—impacted popular music in ways that continue to resonate today," said Adam Block, President, Legacy Recordings at Sony Music Entertainment.  "In working with Havas on the Studio A experience, we're confident we've created a unique, insightful way for fans to discover, experience, appreciate and, ideally share, some of what makes Dylan's work so timeless."  

The inspiration for this site is culled from the legendary studio sessions that produced Bringing It All Back Home, Highway 61 Revisited and Blonde On Blonde. Released on November 6, The Cutting Edge 1965-1966: The Bootleg Series Vol. 12 takes listeners inside the studio during the recording of those three albums. With a wealth of unreleased songs, outtakes, rehearsals, and alternate versions, the album provides a unique insight into Dylan's creative process.
Visit Studio A Revisited here.

The Experience Components:

  • Jam Session
    • Never-before-heard studio stems
    • 4 track stems for the live "in the studio" experience
    • The ability to add and subtract stems on mobile devices
    • The ability to change individual stem volumes on desktops
    • Unique visualizations for every mix — no two are alike
    • Session musician trivia sprinkled through the experience
  • Listening Session
    • Tracing the history of the sessions between 1965-1966
    • Cool visual textures that transport the user back in time
    • Samples of 15 previously unheard takes
    • Never-before-seen studio artifacts and photography
    • Stories across all the sessions from NYC to Nashville
    • Sound engineer audio "markers" of CO numbers
    • Social sharing opportunity of interesting trivia
  • Singing Session
    • Show how well you know a Bob Dylan classic
    • Ability to interact with the lyrics like never before
    • Progressive "levels" for the most accomplished performers
    • The ability to share scores with others

About Havas Worldwide

Havas Worldwide is a leading integrated marketing communications agency and was the first to be named Global Agency of the Year by both Advertising Age and Campaign in the same year. The Havas Worldwide network is made up of 11,000 employees in 316 offices in 120 cities and 75 countries, and provides advertising, marketing, corporate communications, and digital and social media solutions to some of the largest global brands. Headquartered in New York, Havas Worldwide is the largest unit of the Havas group, a world leader in communications (Euronext Paris SA: HAV.PA).

About Legacy Recordings

Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, is home to the world's foremost library of historically significant commercial recordings, a peerless collection of works by the most important musical artists of the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries.  Across a variety of platforms, the label offers contemporary music fans access to thousands of meticulously restored and remastered archival titles representing virtually every musical genre including popular, rock, jazz, blues, R&B, folk, country, gospel, Broadway musicals, movie soundtracks, rap/hip-hop, world music, classical, comedy and more.

Founded in 1990 by CBS Records (rebranded Sony Music in 1991), Legacy has expanded on its original mission (preserving and reissuing back catalogs of Columbia Records, Epic Records and associated CBS labels) to provide new and innovative avenues for artist and repertoire exposure including Grammy winning curated retrospectives, social media campaigns, Oscar winning soundtracks, new talent signings and groundbreaking campaigns for established artists and catalog.  Following the creation of Sony BMG Music Entertainment in 2005, Legacy assumed responsibility for recordings from the archives of the BMG family of labels (including RCA Records, Arista, J Records, Jive, Profile, Silvertone, Sony BMG Nashville and Windham Hill, as well as imprints including Bang!, CTI, Mainstream, Monument, Ode, and others).

SOURCE Legacy Recordings

For further information: Yvonne Bond, Global Communications Director, Havas Worldwide, (212) 886-2035,; Tom Cording, Media Relations, Legacy Recordings, Sony Music,(212) 833-4448,