Legacy Recordings Presents Celtic Thunder's LEGACY Live Show Captured for DVD, Blu-ray, CD and Vinyl Release

Legacy, Volume 1, Filmed at Ontario's Casino Rama in March 2015, Available Friday, February 19, 2016


NEW YORK, Jan. 14, 2016 /PRNewswire/ -- Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, announces the arrival of Legacy, Volume 1--the sensational Irish singing group Celtic Thunder's live show captured for DVD, Blu-ray, CD and vinyl release--on Friday, February 19, 2016. Pre-order here: http://smarturl.it/Celtic_LegacyVol1


Formed in Dublin in 2007, Celtic Thunder is a multi-dimensional musical and theatrical ensemble celebrated around the world for emotionally powerful performances and a state-of-the-art production aesthetic. Billboard magazine has named Celtic Thunder the Top World Album Artist (in 2008, 2009 and 2011) while the group has had LPs placed in the World Album Top 10 every year since 2008.

Since its inception, Celtic Thunder has thrilled audiences the world over with their signature vocal harmonies and ensemble productions. Celtic Thunder brings a new twist to an eclectic repertoire ranging from traditional Irish and folk music to adult contemporary, rock and classical crossover.

Now, Celtic Thunder presents Legacy, the group's latest stage production documented for DVD, Blu-ray, CD and vinyl release. Legacy (the show) is produced by Sharon Browne while the album is produced by David Munro.

Celtic Thunder's Legacy presents many of the best-loved numbers from the group's nine standing-room-only world tours to-date. Song selections include "Heartland," the group's big opening number, along with crowd-pleasing favorites like "Raggle Taggle Gypsy," "Galway Girl," and "A Place in the Choir" alongside rousing anthems "Caledonia" and "Ireland's Call."

Legacy finds Celtic Thunder soloists Colm Keegan, Keith Harkin, Ryan Kelly, Emmett O'Hanlon and Neil Byrne reunited with guest artist Damian McGinty, an original member of Celtic Thunder who went on to win Fox's "The Glee Project before landing a recurring role (as "Rory Flanagan") in the hit series "Glee!".

Legacy offers music lovers a wide variety of solo selections and fan favorites including Damian's "Buachaille On Eirne," Ryan's "Ride On," Keith's "The Mountains of Mourne," Neil's "Noreen," and Emmett's "Danny Boy" alongside contemporary hits like "Falling Slowly" and "Black Velvet Band". The Celtic Thunder vocalists are backed by the eight-piece Celtic Thunder Band on strings, guitars, percussion, whistles, pipes and more, led by musical director is David Munro, who also plays keyboards in the show.

The road to Legacy began in 2007 when Sharon Browne, Celtic Thunder's creator and producer, set out to produce a show with "real Celts" performing an eclectic mix of songs ranging from the traditional to international hits coupled with new original pieces. Those first performances, and each subsequent Celtic Thunder show have set and raised the bar for Irish music and theatrical productions worldwide.

Celtic Thunder's Legacy, Volume 1 is the 14th release for the renowned Irish theatrical singing ensemble, which first appeared on Public Television in 2008. Since that first airing, Celtic Thunder has consistently remained one of the most popular musical shows for Public Television stations throughout the country and has achieved sales of over 2 million copies to date.

The Celtic Thunder show also continues to extensively tour worldwide, performing to more than 700,000 fans over the past eight years. Celtic Thunder looks forward to bringing Legacy on the road in 2016 with a full North America Tour which will run from August-December, calling on 75 cities across 40 states including New York, Massachusetts, Georgia, Pennsylvania, Nevada, Florida, Texas, California and Washington to name but a few.

Filmed at Casino Rama in Ontario in March 2015, Legacy, Volume 1 is a definitive review of Celtic Thunder's most popular songs to-date. The Legacy television special will premiere on Public Television stations across the US and Canada in March 2016.

Celtic Thunder's official YouTube channel, "Thunder Tube" has seen over 28 million-upload views since the channel's inception in 2008. In addition to appearing in nine hugely successful Public Television specials, including the smash hit "Mythology," Celtic Thunder has performed at the White House for President and Mrs. Obama, at the Pentagon for the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff as well as on the CBS Saturday Show's Second Cup Cafe, the Today Show, and Fox and Friends.

Legacy, Volume I - DVD/ Blue-ray Tracklisting

  1. Heartland
  2. Danny Boy
  3. Galway Girl
  4. Mountains of Mourne
  5. Ride On
  6. Buachaille on Eirne
  7. Raggle Taggle Gypsy
  8. Black Velvet Band
  9. The Dutchman
  10. Falling Slowly
  11. Place in the Choir
  12. Noreen
  13. Caledonia
  14. Cal Local Hero
  15. Ireland's Call

Legacy, Volume I - CD Tracklisting

  1. Heartland
  2. Falling Slowly
  3. The Dutchman
  4. Black Velvet Band
  5. Caledonia
  6. Ride On
  7. Buachaille on Eirne
  8. Noreen
  9. The Galway Girl
  10. A Place in the Choir
  11. Mountains of Mourne
  12. Danny Boy
  13. Cal Local Hero
  14. Ireland's Call


Legacy Recordings logo. Division of SONY Music Entertainment.

Photo - http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20160113/322087 
Logo - http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20060130/LEGACYLOGO

SOURCE Legacy Recordings

For further information: Legacy Media Relations: Tom Cording, Tom.Cording@sonymusic.com, 212.833.4448; Gabby Gibb, Gabby.Gibb@sonymusic.com, 212.833.4597; Celtic Thunder: Jean Clancy, jeanclancy@mac.com, 917.402.3616