Sony Classical Releases Independence Day: Resurgence Soundtrack Available Digitally Today and CD July 1

Featuring Music by Thomas Wander and Harald Kloser


NEW YORK, June 17, 2016 /PRNewswire/ -- Sony Classical proudly announces the release of Independence Day: Resurgence Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, featuring music by Thomas Wander and Harald Kloser. The soundtrack will be available digitally on June 17 and on CD July 1. Independence Day: Resurgence will arrive in theatres nationwide on Friday, June 24. Directed by Roland Emmerich, the film stars Liam Hemsworth, Jeff Goldblum, Bill Pullman, Maika Monroe, Travis Tope, William Fichtner, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Judd Hirsch, Jessie Usher, Brent Spiner and Vivica A. Fox

We always knew they were coming back. After Independence Day redefined the event movie genre, the next epic chapter delivers global spectacle on an unimaginable scale. Using recovered alien technology, the nations of Earth have collaborated on an immense defense program to protect the planet. But nothing can prepare us for the aliens' advanced and unprecedented force. Only the ingenuity of a few brave men and women can bring our world back from the brink of extinction.

The screenplay for Independence Day: Resurgence was written by Nicolas Wright & James A. Woods and Dean Devlin & Roland Emmerich and James Vanderbilt, based on a story by Dean Devlin & Roland Emmerich and Nicolas Wright & James A. Woods.  The film was produced by Dean Devlin, Roland Emmerich and Harald Kloser. For updates, please visit

Independence Day: Resurgence is the third collaboration between Austrian-born composers Thomas Wander and Harald Kloser and blockbuster director Roland Emmerich.

Thomas Wander studied music from an early age. In 1992, he moved to Los Angeles to study with renowned film composers such as Jerry Goldsmith and David Raksin at the University of Southern California. Among his film credits are White House Down, Anonymous, 2012, 10,000 BC, and The Day After Tomorrow, directed by Emmerich, The Thirteenth Floor and Hostile Takeover to name a few. For television, he scored more than 40 episodes of the long-running hit series Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Wander has won three BMI Film Music Awards for his scores: 10,000 BC (2008), 2012 (2010) and White House Down (2014).

Harald Kloser is a film music composer, producer and script writer. After his studies of music in Riverside, California, he wrote his first score for Niki List's Sternberg – Shooting Star, followed by soundtracks for Robert Dornhelm's movie Requiem for Dominique, The Comedian Harmonists and Gabriel Baryll's Butterbrot. One of his most famous soundtracks was the music to Emmerich's movie The Day after Tomorrow, co-written with Wander (2004). Kloser, Wander and Emmerich collaborated, once again, for the film 10,000 BC (2008) and the big-budget science fiction movie 2012 (2010), where Kloser also acted as producer, script writer and film composer. Kloser won the BMI Film Music Award in 2005 for both of his scores of Alien vs. Predator and The Day After Tomorrow.

Sony Music Masterworks comprises Masterworks, Sony Classical, OKeh, Portrait, Masterworks Broadway and Flying Buddha imprints. For email updates and information please visit

INDEPENDENCE DAY: RESURGENCE Original Motion Picture Soundtrack tracklisting:

  1. Travelling Through Space
  2. Great Speech
  3. Hostile Territory
  4. How Did They Get The Lights On?
  5. Inside The African Ship
  6. More Stimulation
  7. Fear
  8. The Friendly Spaceship
  9. The Only Family I Got
  10. Welcome To The Moon
  11. What Goes Up
  12. It's Getting Real
  13. Flying Inside
  14. It's A Trap
  15. Worth Fighting For
  16. The Sphere
  17. The Queen Is Leaving
  18. Whitmore's Choice
  19. Humanity's Last Stand
  20. Bus Chase
  21. We Are Rich
  22. Independence Day Resurgence Finale
  23. ID4 Reprise
  24. Electric U · Kid Bloom
  25. Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)
    Annie Trousseau

All music by Thomas Wander & Harald Kloser except:

01 Travelling Through Space Music by Thomas Wander, Harald Kloser, Thomas Schobel

17 The Queen Is Leaving Music by Thomas Wander, Harald Kloser, Thomas Schobel

21 We Are Rich Music by Thomas Wander, Harald Kloser, David Arnold

23 ID4 Reprise Music by David Arnold · Mixed by Dennis Sands

24 Electric U Performed by Kid Bloom · Written by Josh Conway, Lennon Kloser, Jesse Perlman
Published by Copyright Control · (P) 2016 Kid Bloom

25 Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down) Performed by Annie Trousseau · Written by Sonny Bono
Published by Cotillion Music Inc. (BMI) and Chris-Marc Music · Courtesy of Ana Maria Lombo (P) 2011 Street Entertainment

Media Contacts:
Beth Krakower | The Krakower Group | 
Angela Barkan | Larissa Slezak | Sony Music Masterworks
212.833.8575 / 6075 / /

SOURCE Sony Classical