Masterworks Broadway/Epic Records To Release "Hairspray Live! Original Soundtrack Of The NBC Television Event"




NEW YORK, Nov. 4, 2016 /PRNewswire/ -- On December 2, 2016 Masterworks Broadway/Epic Records will release "Hairspray LIVE! Original Soundtrack Of The NBC Television Event" the companion album to NBC's broadcast of "Hairspray Live!" which will air on Wednesday December 7, 2016 at 8 p.m. ET/PT.

Hairspray LIVE! Original Soundtrack Of The NBC Television Event, the companion album to NBC's broadcast of "Hairspray Live!" is available December 2 via Masterworks Broadway/Epic Records

The all-star cast features Harvey Fierstein, Jennifer Hudson, Ariana Grande, Kristin Chenoweth, Martin Short, Derek Hough, Dove Cameron, Garrett Clayton, Ephraim Sykes, Shahadi Wright Joseph, exciting newcomer Maddie Baillio, and Special Guest Stars Billy Eichner, Sean Hayes, Andrea Martin, and Rosie O'Donnell.

Available for preorder now, "Hairspray LIVE! Original Soundtrack of the NBC Television Event" will include studio recordings for all of the musical numbers that are performed by the cast members in the live broadcast.

In "Hairspray Live!" teenager Tracy Turnblad's dream is to dance on "The Corny Collins Show," a local TV program. When against all odds Tracy wins a role on the show, she becomes a celebrity overnight and meets a colorful array of characters, including the resident dreamboat, Link; the ambitious mean girl, Amber; an African-American boy she meets in detention, Seaweed; and his mother, Motormouth Maybelle, the owner of a local record store. Tracy's mother is the indomitable Edna, and she eventually encourages Tracy on her campaign to integrate the all-white "Corny Collins Show."

Emmy award-winning live television director Alex Rudzinski ("Dancing with the Stars") will join Tony-winning director Kenny Leon ("The Wiz Live!").  Craig Zadan and Neil Meron (Oscar-winning "Chicago," "The Wiz Live!,"  the upcoming "Bye Bye Birdie Live!" and the live television production of the Broadway play "A Few Good Men") serve as executive producers of "Hairspray Live!" Harvey Fierstein will also provide a new teleplay and Tony winner Jerry Mitchell ("Kinky Boots," "On Your Feet") will serve as choreographer for the live production with music and lyrics by Tony winners Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman ("Smash," the upcoming feature "Mary Poppins Returns" and the Broadway-bound "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory"). The soundtrack is licensed through the NBC Universal Television Consumer Products Group.


1. "Good Morning Baltimore"

11. "Big, Blonde and Beautiful"

2. "The Nicest Kids in Town"

12. "(You're) Timeless to Me"

3. "Mama, I'm a Big Girl Now"

13. "Good Morning Baltimore (Reprise)"

4. "I Can Hear the Bells"

14. "Without Love"

5. "(The Legend of) Miss Baltimore Crabs"

15. "I Know Where I've Been"

6. "Ladies' Choice"

16. "(It's) Hairspray"

7. "It Takes Two"

17. "Cooties"

8. "Velma's Revenge"

18. "You Can't Stop the Beat"

9. "Welcome to the 60's"

19. "Come So Far (Got So Far to Go)"

10."Run and Tell That"

Preorder Links:
iTunes -
Amazon -

Follow "Hairspray Live!" on social media:

Sony Masterworks Media Contacts:
Angela Barkan,, 212-833-8575
Larissa Slezak,, 212-833-6075

NBC Entertainment Media Contacts:
Rebecca Marks,, 818-777-3030
Sharon Pannozzo,, 212-664-5152
Joey Levine,, 818-777-2326
Erika Lewis,, 212-664-5478

SONY MUSIC MASTERWORKS comprises the imprints Sony Classical, Masterworks, OKeh, Portrait, Flying Buddha and Masterworks Broadway. Our artists range from icons to newly developing talents in classical, crossover and adult music, plus new and legendary jazz artists, as well as a vast catalog of musical theatre recordings including classic Broadway shows and original cast albums of today's Broadway hits, most recently Kinky Boots, Once, If/Then and An American In Paris.

EPIC RECORDS has a storied history and over the years the label has thrived with such legendary and popular acts as Michael Jackson, Sade, Boston, Celine Dion, Dave Clark Five, Fiona Apple, Gloria Estefan, Pearl Jam, Shakira, Judas Priest, and Sly & the Family Stone.  LA Reid was named Chairman & CEO of Epic Records in 2011, and today the label has a diverse roster of incomparable talent with artists like A Great Big World, Sara Bareilles, Mariah Carey, Fifth Harmony, Future, Jennifer Hudson, Jidenna, DJ Khaled, Kongos, Zara Larsson, Jennifer Lopez, French Montana, Outkast, Puff Daddy, Rick Ross, Travis Scott, Meghan Trainor, and Yo Gotti, to name a few.

Photo -

SOURCE Masterworks Broadway