Sony Corporation - Selection of Board Member Candidates


Tokyo, Japan - At the meeting of the Nominating Committee held on May 17, 2016, Sony Corporation named candidates for election to the position of Member of the Board. The selections are subject to the approval at the Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders to be held on June 17, 2016.

Members of the Board 

The candidates for election to the position of Member of the Board are as follows.

Kazuo Hirai --- Representative Corporate Executive Officer, President and CEO

Kenichiro Yoshida --- Representative Corporate Executive Officer, Executive Deputy President and CFO

Osamu Nagayama(*) --- Representative Director, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.

Takaaki Nimura(*) --- Certified Public Accountant

Eikoh Harada(*) --- Representative Director, Chairman and CEO, Benesse Holdings, Inc.
Representative Director and CEO, Benesse Corporation

Joichi Ito(*) --- Director, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Media Lab

Tim Schaaff --- Chief Product Officer, Intertrust Technologies Corporation
Independent Startup Advisor
Former President, Sony Network Entertainment International LLC

Kazuo Matsunaga(*) --- Vice Chairman of the Board, Mitsubishi Fuso Truck & Bus Corporation
Former Vice-Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry

Koichi Miyata(*) --- President, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.

John V. Roos(*) --- Former United States Ambassador to Japan
Founding Partner, Geodesic Capital

Eriko Sakurai(*) --- Chairman and CEO, Dow Corning Toray Co., Ltd
(*) An Outside Director who satisfies the requirements under Item 15, Article 2 of the Companies Act of Japan

Member of the Board scheduled to retire

Kanemitsu Anraku --- Former Representative Director and Executive Vice President, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.

Access full press release