Sony Corporation Executive Appointments


Tokyo, Japan - Sony Corporation announced the appointment of members to its Board of Directors following approval at the 98th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders that took place today, along with the company’s Chairman of the Board, Chairman and Members of the Nominating, Compensation and Audit Committees, Representative Corporate Executive Officers and Corporate Executive Officers appointed at a Meeting of the Board of Directors held after the above mentioned General Meeting of Shareholders.

<Members of the Board>

*The candidates have not changed since the announcement on April 30.

Kazuo Hirai --- Representative Corporate Executive Officer, President and CEO

Kenichiro Yoshida --- Representative Corporate Executive Officer, Executive Deputy President and CFO

Kanemitsu Anraku(*) --- Director, Mizuho Financial Group, Inc.

Osamu Nagayama(*) --- Representative Director, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.

Takaaki Nimura(*) --- Certified Public Accountant

Eikoh Harada(*) ---
Representative Director, Chairman and CEO, Benesse Holdings, Inc.
Representative Director and CEO, Benesse Corporation

Joichi Ito(*) --- Director, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Media Lab

Tim Schaaff --- Retired President, Sony Network Entertainment International LLC
Independent Startup Advisor

Kazuo Matsunaga(*) --- Retired Vice-Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry

Koichi Miyata(*) --- President, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.

John V. Roos(*) --- Former United States Ambassador to Japan

Eriko Sakurai(*) --- Chairman and CEO, Dow Corning Toray Co., Ltd

(*) An Outside Director who satisfies the requirements under Item 15, Article 2 of the Companies Act of Japan


<Chairman of the Board>

Chairman of the Board --- Osamu Nagayama

<Chairman and Members of the Committees>

Nominating Committee

Chair --- Osamu Nagayama

Members ---Koichi Miyata, John V. Roos, Kazuo Hirai

Compensation Committee

Chair --- Eikoh Harada

Members --- Eriko Sakurai, Kenichiro Yoshida

Audit Committee

Chair --- Takaaki Nimura

Members --- Kanemitsu Anraku, Kazuo Matsunaga


Corporate Executive Officers (*concurrently a Director)

*The candidates have not changed since the announcement on May 29.

<Representative Corporate Executive Officers>

Kazuo Hirai* --- President and Chief Executive Officer

Kenichiro Yoshida* --- Executive Deputy President and Chief Financial Officer

In charge of Medical Business

<Corporate Executive Officers>

Tomoyuki Suzuki --- Executive Deputy President
Officer in charge of Device Solutions Business and RDS Platform
President of Device Solutions Business Group

Shiro Kambe --- Executive Vice President
Officer in charge of Legal, Compliance, Corporate Communications, CSR and External Relations

Masashi Imamura --- Executive Vice President
Officer in charge of Manufacturing, Logistics, Procurement, Quality and Environmental Platform and Engineering Platform

Shigeki Ishizuka --- Executive Vice President
Officer in charge of Imaging Products & Solutions Business
President of Professional Solutions Group
President of Digital Imaging Business Group

Access full press release


[Contact Info.]

Corporate Communications & CSR Department

Sony Corporation