Sony Corporation Executive Appointments


Tokyo, Japan - Sony Corporation announced the appointment of members to its Board of Directors following approval at the 100th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders that took place today, along with the company’s Chairman of the Board, Chairman and Members of the Nominating, Compensation and Audit Committees, Representative Corporate Executive Officers and Corporate Executive Officers appointed at a Meeting of the Board of Directors held after the above mentioned General Meeting of Shareholders.

Members of the Board 

*The candidates have not changed since the announcement on April 28.

  • Kazuo Hirai --- Representative Corporate Executive Officer, President and CEO
  • Kenichiro Yoshida --- Representative Corporate Executive Officer, Executive Deputy President and CFO
  • Osamu Nagayama(*) --- Representative Director, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
  • Takaaki Nimura(*) --- Certified Public Accountant
  • Eikoh Harada(*)  --- Former Chairman, President and CEO, Representative Director,
                                    McDonald's Holdings Company (Japan), Ltd.
  • Tim Schaaff --- Chief Product Officer, Intertrust Technologies Corporation
                             Independent Startup Advisor
                             Former President, Sony Network Entertainment International LLC
  • Kazuo Matsunaga(*) --- Chairman of the Board, Mitsubishi Fuso Truck & Bus Corporation
                                           Former Vice-Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry
  • Koichi Miyata(*) --- Chairman of the Board, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc.
                                   Chairman of the Board, Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation
  • John V. Roos(*) --- Former United States Ambassador to Japan
                                   Founding Partner, Geodesic Capital
  • Eriko Sakurai(*) --- Chairman and CEO, Representative Director, Dow Corning Toray Co., Ltd.
  • Kunihito Minakawa(*)(**) --- Audit & Supervisory Board Member, Ricoh Company, Ltd. (Scheduled to retire on June 16, 2017
  • Shuzo Sumi(*)(**) --- Chairman of the Board, Tokio Marine Holdings, Inc.

(*) An Outside Director who satisfies the requirements under Item 15, Article 2 of the Companies Act of Japan       

(**)A new candidate for Member of the Board

Chairman of the Board

Chairman of the Board --- Osamu Nagayama

Chairman and Members of the Committees          

Nominating Committee         

Chair  --- Osamu Nagayama             

Members --- Koichi Miyata, John V. Roos, Shuzo Sumi, Kazuo Hirai             

Compensation Committee           

Chair --- Eikoh Harada               

Members --- John V. Roos, Eriko Sakurai, Kenichiro Yoshida

Audit Committee                 

Chair --- Takaaki Nimura              

Members --- Kazuo Matsunaga, Kunihito Minakawa

Corporate Executive Officers (*concurrently a Director)            

*The candidates have not changed since the announcement on May 19.

Representative Corporate Executive Officers      

  • Kazuo Hirai* --- President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Kenichiro Yoshida* --- Executive Deputy President and Chief Financial Officer

Corporate Executive Officers (EVPs listed in order of appointment)

  • Tomoyuki Suzuki --- Executive Deputy President
                                     Officer in charge of R&D Platform
                                     In charge of Energy Business and Storage Media Business
  • Shiro Kambe --- Executive Vice President, Officer in charge of Legal, Compliance, Corporate Communications, CSR, External Relations and Information Security & Privacy
  • Masashi Imamura --- Executive Vice President
                                       Officer in charge of Manufacturing, Logistics, Procurement, Quality & Environment
                                       In charge of Engineering Platform
  • Shigeki Ishizuka --- Executive Vice President
                                    Officer in charge of Imaging Products and Solutions Business
                                    Representative Director and President, Sony Imaging Products & Solutions Inc.
  • Andrew House --- Executive Vice President
                                 Officer in charge of Game & Network Services Business
                                  President and Global CEO, Sony Interactive Entertainment LLC
  • Ichiro Takagi --- Executive Vice President
                              Officer in charge of Home Entertainment & Sound Business and Consumer AV Sales & Marketing
                              Representative Director and President, Sony Visual Products Inc.
                              Representative Director and President, Sony Video & Sound Products Inc.
  • Hiroki Totoki (New role added**) --- Executive Vice President, Chief Strategy Officer**
                                                              In charge of Mid-to-Long Term Business Strategy, New Business**
                                                              Officer in charge of Mobile Communications Business
                                                               President & CEO, Sony Mobile Communications Inc.
  • President and Representative Director, Sony Network Communications Inc.
  • Kazushi Ambe --- Executive Vice President
                                 Officer in charge of Human Resources and General Affairs

Access press release here:

For further information: