Selection of Board Member Candidates


Tokyo, Japan – At Sony Group Corporation’s recent Nominating Committee meeting held earlier today, the following candidates were nominated as Members of Sony Group Corporation’s Board of Directors for 2024. The nominees are subject to the approval at the Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders, to be held in June 2024.

<Members of the Board>

The candidates for Members of the Board are as follows:

Kenichiro Yoshida --- Chairman and CEO             

Representative Corporate Executive Officer

Hiroki Totoki --- President, COO and CFO             

Representative Corporate Executive Officer

Yoshihiko Hatanaka *1  --- External Director, Shiseido Company, Limited                                                                    

External Director, SEKISUI CHEMICAL CO., LTD                                                                   

Former Representative Director, Chairman of the Board, Astellas Pharma Inc.

Wendy Becker *1  --- Chairperson of the Board, Logitech International S.A.

Non-Executive Director, GSK plc

Sakie Akiyama *1  --- Founder, Saki Corporation 

Keiko Kishigami *1 --- Certified Public Accountant in Japan                

Board Member, WWF Japan

Joseph A. Kraft Jr. *1 --- CEO, Rorschach Advisory Inc.

Neil Hunt *1 --- Chief Product Officer, Vibrant Planet, PBC        

Director, Roku, Inc.

Former Chief Product Officer, Netflix Inc.

William Morrow *1 --- CEO, DIRECTV Entertainment Holdings LLC

Shingo Konomoto*1 *2 --- President &CEO, Chairman, Member of the Board, Representative Director, Nomura Research Institute, Ltd.*3      

*1 An Outside Director who satisfies the requirements under Item 15, Article 2 of the Companies Act of Japan

*2 A new candidate for Member of the Board

*3 Following the resolution of the Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders and the Board of Directors of Nomura Research Institute, Ltd., which is scheduled to be held in late June 2024, Mr. Shingo Konomoto will be elected Chairman, Member of the Board, Nomura Research Institute, Ltd.

<Member of the Board scheduled to retire>              

Toshiko Oka --- Professor, Professional Graduate School, Graduate School of Global Business, Meiji University

<Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Board*4>

Chairman of the Board: Yoshihiko Hatanaka                

Vice Chairman of the Board: Wendy Becker

<Chair and Members of the Committees*4>

Nominating Committee              

Chair: Yoshihiko Hatanaka          

Members: Wendy Becker, Joseph A. Kraft Jr.      

Compensation Committee             

Chair: Wendy Becker         

Members: Sakie Akiyama, William Morrow      

Audit Committee                

Chair: Joseph A. Kraft Jr.             

Members: Keiko Kishigami, Shingo Konomoto         

Information Security            

Joseph A. Kraft Jr., Neil Hunt     

*4 To be officially appointed at the Board of Directors meeting to be held following the Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders, scheduled for June 2024.

Access full press release

For further information: Corporate Communications Department Sony Group Corporation